Stock Image

When Breath Becomes Air

Paul Kalanithi

261,404 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 081298840X / ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Published by Random House, 2016
Used Condition: Very Good Hardcover
From Wilmington Books & More (Wilmington, NC, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since September 29, 2014

Quantity Available: 6

Buy Used
Price: US$ 14.75 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 2.55 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Very clean copy with minimal wear. We offer fast reliable shipping on all orders. All books have a 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-2398780594634493194

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: When Breath Becomes Air

Publisher: Random House

Publication Date: 2016

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Very Good

About this title

Synopsis:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER · PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST · For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review · People · NPR · The Washington Post · Slate · Harper’s Bazaar · Time Out New York · Publishers Weekly · BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

Review:

An Amazon Best Book of January 2016: When Breath Becomes Air is a powerful look at a stage IV lung cancer diagnosis through the eyes of a neurosurgeon. When Paul Kalanithi is given his diagnosis he is forced to see this disease, and the process of being sick, as a patient rather than a doctor--the result of his experience is not just a look at what living is and how it works from a scientific perspective, but the ins and outs of what makes life matter. This heart-wrenching book will capture you from page one and still have you thinking long after the final sentence. –Penny Mann

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We have been selling online since 1999. We offer third day delivery at no extra charge on all of our DVDs and Books. 100% satisfaction or return for a full refund.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days. This does not affect your statutory consumer rights includ...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Money Order PayPal