When Breath Becomes Air

ISBN 10: 081298840X / ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.34 avg rating
(260,204 ratings)

Synopsis: #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER · PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST · For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review · People · NPR · The Washington Post · Slate · Harper’s Bazaar · Time Out New York · Publishers Weekly · BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

Review: An Amazon Best Book of January 2016: When Breath Becomes Air is a powerful look at a stage IV lung cancer diagnosis through the eyes of a neurosurgeon. When Paul Kalanithi is given his diagnosis he is forced to see this disease, and the process of being sick, as a patient rather than a doctor--the result of his experience is not just a look at what living is and how it works from a scientific perspective, but the ins and outs of what makes life matter. This heart-wrenching book will capture you from page one and still have you thinking long after the final sentence. –Penny Mann

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: When Breath Becomes Air
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kalanithi, Paul
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Goodwill BookWorks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Condition: Acceptable. 9780399142789 A book with obvious wear. May have some damage to the cover or binding but integrity is still intact. There might be writing in the margins, possibly underlining and highlighting of text, but no missing pages or anything that would compromise the legibility or understanding of the text. Seller Inventory # 10-B-01-000019

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Paul Kalanithi
Published by Kalanithi, Paul
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kalanithi, Paul. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2951329706

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Paul Kalanithi
Published by Kalanithi, Paul
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kalanithi, Paul. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2951329652

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Kalanithi, Paul
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Good. The cover may have some normal wear. The text has no notes or markings. Seller Inventory # 1EY86F0EDWPO

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Paul Kalanithi
Published by Random House USA (2016)
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House USA, 2016. Befriedigend/Good: Durchschnittlich erhaltenes Buch bzw. Schutzumschlag mit Gebrauchsspuren, aber vollständigen Seiten. / Describes the average WORN book or dust jacket that has all the pages present. Seller Inventory # M0081298840X-G

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.24
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Kalanithi, Paul
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
glenthebookseller
(Montgomery, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Condition: Good. 081298840X Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc. Seller Inventory # Z081298840XZ3

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Kalanithi, Paul
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
glenthebookseller
(Montgomery, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. 081298840X Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc. Seller Inventory # Z081298840XZ2

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Kalanithi, Paul
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Condition: Acceptable. Hardcover The item is fairly worn but still readable. Signs of wear include aesthetic issues such as scratches, worn covers, damaged binding. The item may have identifying markings on it or show other signs of previous use. May have page creases, creased spine, bent cover or markings inside. Packed with care, shipped promptly. Seller Inventory # X-011-0579

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Kalanithi, Paul
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Condition: Good. Hardcover This item shows wear from consistent use but remains in good readable condition. It may have marks on or in it, and may show other signs of previous use or shelf wear. May have minor creases or signs of wear on dust jacket. Packed with care, shipped promptly. Seller Inventory # G-02-1384

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Kalanithi, Paul
Published by Random House (2016)
ISBN 10: 081298840X ISBN 13: 9780812988406
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cozy Book Cellar
(Bellingham, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Hardcover Book with Jacket. Seller Inventory # 422873

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 334 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book