As of This Writing: The Essential Essays, 1968-2002

James, Clive

Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393051803 / ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

0393051803 Stated first edition; 619 clean, unmarked, tightly-bound pages including index; dust jacket and cover in excellent condition. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.34 avg rating
(41 ratings)

Synopsis:

"Clive James is in the tradition of Hazlitt, Bagehot, and Edmund Wilson, with a gusto to succeed theirs."―John Bayley

It is impossible not to be awed by the remarkable range and massive erudition of Clive James, one of the greatest literary critics of our age. In the tradition of Edmund Wilson, James is a brilliant stylist so perceptive (and funny) that he renders the twisted literary terrain of the twentieth century remarkably accessible. In As of This Writing James has assembled his most ambitious and expansive collection to date, a book that features forty-nine essays on poetry, film, culture, and fiction written between 1967 and 2001. Whether commenting on poets like Auden or Jarrell, novelists like D. H. Lawrence and James Agee (not to mention Judith Krantz), or filmmakers like Fellini or Bogdanovich, James delights his readers with his manic energy and critical aplomb. This volume is a literary education that few recent books can rival.

About the Author: Born in Australia, Clive James lives in Cambridge, England. He is the author of Unreliable Memoirs; a volume of selected poems, Opal Sunset; the best-selling Cultural Amnesia; and the translator of The Divine Comedy by Dante. He has written for the New York Times Book Review, The New Yorker, and The Atlantic. He is an Officer of the Order of Australia and a Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: As of This Writing: The Essential Essays, ...
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Fine

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James, Clive
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2003)
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2003. Condition: Good. 1st Edition. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP8522891

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Clive James
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2938427305

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Clive James
Published by Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Second City
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0393051803I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Clive James
Published by Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. A readable copy. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. Pages can include considerable notes-in pen or highlighter-but the notes cannot obscure the text. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0393051803I5N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Clive James
Published by Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0393051803I4N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Clive James
Published by Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0393051803I4N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goodwill Books
(Hillsboro, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: Good. Sound copy that may show minimal signs of wear or previous ownership. Seller Inventory # 3IIEN3004525

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

James, Clive
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2003)
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_216891160

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Clive James
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2003)
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0393051803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Clive James
Published by WW Norton & Co (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393051803 ISBN 13: 9780393051803
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mike Conry
(WORCESTER, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton & Co, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. 1st Edition. Without inscription in not price clipped dust jacket. Seller Inventory # ABE-1495263980033

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 13.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.29
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 10 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book