Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Wu Frank

Published by Basic Books, 2002
ISBN 10: 0465006396 / ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

399, Yellow spine with white and black lettering. (Signed) Inscribed by Frank Wu. 1st Edition. 1st Printing. Boards are clean and in fine condition. Page edges and interior are clean and bright, binding is tight. Dust jacket is in near fine condition, clean but has minor sunning to the spine. Comes wrapped in brodart and shipped with care. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.69 avg rating
(446 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and other public intellectuals who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, law professor, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the new century.Often provocative and always thoughtful, this book addresses some of the most controversial contemporary issues: discrimination, immigration, diversity, globalization, and the mixed-race movement, introducing the example of Asian Americans to shed new light on the current debates. Combining personal anecdotes, social-science research, legal cases, history, and original journalistic reporting, Wu discusses damaging Asian American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work challenges us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

Review: Yellow by Frank H. Wu is an eclectic, incisive investigation-cum-meditation that, though focusing on Asian Americans, recasts the United States' ongoing debate about racial identity in all forms. Wu suggests that the widespread stereotyping of Asian Americans, while "superficially positive," is inherently damaging. Mixing personal anecdotes, current events, academic studies, and court cases, Wu not only debunks the myth of a "model minority" but also makes discomfiting observations about attitudes toward affirmative action, what he calls "rational" discrimination, mixed marriages, racial profiling, and the "false divisions" of integration versus pluralism and assimilation versus multiculturalism. Though its conclusions are unremarkable, Yellow is thought provoking. The book's strength--besides its clarity and thoughtfulness--is a lack of tendentiousness. Wu prefers to suggest, not posit; muse, not shout; and ask questions, not necessarily answer them. --H. O'Billovitch

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and ...
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication Date: 2002
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Fine+/ Near Fine
Edition: 1st Edition.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wu, Frank H.
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. 0465006396 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z0465006396Z4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2936706151

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2937885166

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books, 2002. Condition: Good. 1st. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP8161354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books, 2002. Condition: Very Good. 1st. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP2666798

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books, 2002. Condition: Good. 1st. Ships from Reno, NV. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP90072873

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books, 2002. Condition: Good. 1st. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP3318856

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0465006396I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0465006396I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Frank H. Wu
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465006396 ISBN 13: 9780465006397
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Yankee Clipper
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0465006396I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 35 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book