AbeBooks' Reading Copy

AbeBooks book blog

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

Best of the National Book Awards – 60th anniversary celebration

gravitys-rainbowThe National Book Awards have acclaimed the finest writing in American literature for decades. To celebrate the 60th anniversary of these awards, the National Book Foundation has today launched a campaign to select the best book from the long list of fiction winners.

John Updike, Ralph Ellison, Thomas Pynchon, Don DeLillo, Susan Sontag, Saul Bellow, Philip Roth, Eudora Welty, John Cheever, William Faulkner, Cormac McCarthy, and E. Annie Proulx are just some of the amazing authors to have been honored over the years. Not a bad list!

shipping-newsThe National Book Awards began in 1950 when The Man With the Golden Arm by Nelson Algren was named America’s best piece of fiction from the previous year and today the Awards are the most important event on the US literary calendar.

AbeBooks is supporting the anniversary, so step back in time and revisit the full list of classic works of fiction honored by the National Book Awards.

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

One Response to “Best of the National Book Awards – 60th anniversary celebration”