AbeBooks' Reading Copy

AbeBooks book blog

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

Sebastian Barry wins Costa book of the Year

The 2008 Costa Book of the Year Award was announced this evening (or afternoon for thoes of us on the left side of the Atlantic).

Secret ScriptureThe award and its £25,000 prize is given to one of the five catagory winners chosen by the judges. This years winner of the Book of the Year prize was Sebastian Barry for The Secret Scripture.

The other finalists, who all won £5,000 catagory awards were:
Sadie Jones who won the First Novel Award category for The Outcast.
Diana Athill who won the Biography Award for her memoir, Somewhere Towards the End.
Adam Foulds who won the Poetry Award for The Broken Word
Michelle Magorian who won in the Children’s Book Award for Just Henry

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!