AbeBooks' Reading Copy

AbeBooks book blog

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

Barbara Kingsolver’s The Lacuna Wins 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction

lacuna-barbara-kingsolver-orange-prizeCongratulations to Barbara Kingsolver, whose latest novel The Lacuna has been named the winner of the 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction.

One of my favourite authors, Kingsolver’s best known works include The Bean Trees, The Poisonwood Bible, Prodigal Summer and the non-fiction account of her family’s journey to eat locally for one year, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

The £30,000 Orange prize has been around for 15 years, and is one of the UK’s best known and most respected literary prizes. Only female authors are eligible, and only for full-length, English-language novels.

Kingsolver beat out other big names Hilary Mantel (everyone thought she would take it for Wolf Hall) and Lorrie Moore (for A Gate at the Stairs, as well as underdogs Rosie Allison (The Very Thought of You, Attica Locke (Black Water Rising and Monique Roffey (The White Woman on the Green Bicycle).

Congratulations, Barbara Kingsolver!

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

2 Responses to “Barbara Kingsolver’s The Lacuna Wins 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction”