AbeBooks' Reading Copy

AbeBooks book blog

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

Titus Awakes: the lost Gormenghast Novel out now!

The fourth Gormenghast novel

Mervyn Peake’s Gormenghast saga has a new installment – 62 years after the last one. Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone have now been joined by Titus Awakes after the discovery of a long lost manuscript.

Rumors of a fourth novel circulated for years but were always just rumors. In January 2010 the granddaughter of Peake’s widow found a complete manuscript that her mother, Maeve Gilmore, had written in the 1970s based on notes Mervyn Peake had written before dying at the age of 57 from Parkinson’s Disease. The results of Gilmore’s labor have since been edited and will now appear, just in time for the centenary of the author’s birth

Read more in our feature about Mervyn Peake and the Gormenghast series

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

2 Responses to “Titus Awakes: the lost Gormenghast Novel out now!”