AbeBooks' Reading Copy

AbeBooks book blog

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

2014 Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz Awards Announced


Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo is the 2014 winner of the John Newbery Medal, awarded by the American Library Association for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Illustrated by K.G. Campbell, DiCamillo’s mash-up of comics, prose, and even poetry, is a high-energy romp about a lonely girl named Flora and her super-hero friend, Ulysses, who happens to be a squirrel.

This year’s winner of the Caldecott Medal for most distinguished picture book is Locamotive by Brian Floca, a detailed and beautifully illustrated story of 19th century train travel. And the 2014 Michael L. Printz Award for young adult literature went to Marcus Sedgwick’s Midwinterblood, a darkly atmospheric tale encompassing both past and future, told in reverse chronological order.Paperboy

The awards were announced on January 27 at the American Library Association’s midwinter conference in Philadelphia.

Newbery Award Honor Books:

Doll Bones by Holly Black

The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes

One Came Home by Amy Timberlake

Paperboy by Vince Vawter

Caldecott Award Honor Books:

Journey by Aaron Becker

Flora and the Flamingo by Molly IdleKingdom-of-Little-Wounds

Mr. Wuffles! by David Wiesner

Michael L. Printz Award Honor Books:

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner, illustrated by Julian Crouch

Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

One Response to “2014 Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz Awards Announced”