Stock Image
Bob and Jack; a Boy and His Yak: Moss, Jeff Bob and Jack; a Boy and His Yak: Moss, Jeff

Bob and Jack; a Boy and His Yak

Moss, Jeff

41 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0553089315 / ISBN 13: 9780553089318
Published by Bantam Books, New York, 1992
Used Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Sea Chest Books (Las Vegas, NM, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since November 30, 2009 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 29.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Book is fine in half oatmeal colored cloth with gilt spine printing, and half grey-green boards with matching endpapers. Jacket is near fine with some superficial scuffing, not price clipped. No marks, first printing. Jack wanted a yak very badly, and finally got a pet yak named Bob. He loved Bob very much, and Bob loved him, they grew up together. Finally the day came when Jack had to go off to college, Bob stayed home with Jack's parents. Jack grew up and Bob grew old and slow. Finally Bob died, and it was a very sad day for all. Jack got married and had a little baby girl, and he got her a yak. She loved her yak, and named him Steve. No page numbers. Moving story for children of all ages, including grown-ups. Bookseller Inventory # 002250

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Bob and Jack; a Boy and His Yak

Publisher: Bantam Books, New York

Publication Date: 1992

Binding: Half Cloth

Illustrator: Demarest, Chris

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Edition: First Printing

About this title

Synopsis:

In this whimsical tale written in the tradition of Dr. Seuss, Jack always wished for a special pet and one Christmas his wish comes true--he discovers a yak of his own under the tree. Jeff Moss brings his trademark insight and imaginative wit to his first book-length story told in verse.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 2-4-- Told in rhymed couplets, this is a delightful saga of two friends. It begins at the time that Jack, the boy, first realizes that what he really needs most to make his life complete is a yak. He assures his dubious parents that "it's better than a puppy or a goldfish or a llama." They finally agree, and what follows is the depiction of the typical interplay between child and pet. The story takes readers through Jack's departure for college and the inevitable lessening of his devotion to Bob as new friendships and experiences fill his life, to the sad day when his beloved but aging yak dies. The tale comes full circle when, years later, Jack realizes that his young daughter needs a pet and he knows just what to get her. And so another cycle is about to begin. This story of life and death, growth and loss, has been told with a sense of humor that is punctuated by Demarest's delightful line drawings. The rhymes flow naturally, as does the narrative, and only rarely does either seem forced. Children, particularly fans of Roy Gerrard's Mik's Mammoth (Farrar, 1990) and Dr. Seuss's stories, will have no trouble relating to the timelessness and familiarity of this tale. --Linda Greengrass, Bank Street College Library, New York City
Copyright 1993 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We sell a hand picked selection of used and antiquarian books on many subjects, with concentrations in art, history, anthropology, botany and nature, travel and cooking.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're
dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't
arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed
your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact
us and we'll respond within 2 business days.
Jayne Waldron, 1030 5th Street, Las Vegas, New Mexico 8770...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. All books are padded and wrapped carefully. Most are shipped in a box, unless very small, in which case they will be shipped in a padded envelope.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order