The Lives of the Great Composers - Volume Two

9780860077237: The Lives of the Great Composers - Volume Two
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

This history of classical music, from Bach to Schoenberg, not only unravels the evolutionary patterns of musical development, but reveals the composers themselves - their lives and states of mind, their private defeats and public triumphs. From Schumann, who believed angels were dictating his harmonies, to J.S. Bach who had a cantata deadline to meet every Sunday in order to feed nine children, we can discern the various sources of inspiration. This book is designed to be used as a reference to many of the major composers and their music, but is also a source of relevant biographical detail.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Harold C. Schonberg, senior New York Times music critic for twenty years, was the first in his field to be awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Criticism (1971). He is the author of many articles and eight books, including one on chess. Schonberg lives in New York City.

From Library Journal:

This third edition of a work that has become a standard resource since its publication in 1981 includes brief but significant changes. A new chapter brings the work up to date, covering later serialists such as Stockhausen and Carter, minimalists Philip Glass and John Adams, and Alfred Schnittke and Peter Maxwell Davies. Schonberg discusses the recent phenomenal success of recordings of Gregorian chant and the search for styles of composition that combine originality and complexity with audience appeal. Women composers Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel, Amy Beach, Cecile Chaminade, Ethel Smyth, and Ellen Taaffe Zwilich are now included. Though each has been given only one paragraph, it is valuable to see them placed in the context of their contemporaries and their predecessors. Schonberg writes for the lay reader. His intention is to humanize the composers and the writing, always highly readable, emphasizes biographical information rather than musical analysis. Recommended for all public and academic libraries.?Kate McCaffrey, Onondaga Cty. P.L., Syracuse, N.Y.
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780393038576: The Lives of the Great Composers

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0393038572 ISBN 13: 9780393038576
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, 1997

9780349109725: The Lives of the Great Composers

Time W..., 1998

9780393013023: The Lives of the Great Composers

W W No..., 1981

9780393021462: The Lives Of The Great Composers

W. W. ..., 1970

9780349103402: The Lives of the Great Composers

Time W..., 1991

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image


Schonberg, Harold C.
ISBN 10: 0860077233 ISBN 13: 9780860077237
New Quantity Available: 1
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0860077233

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 83.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds