The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories

3.6 avg rating
( 965 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9781594486043: The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories

In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena.

The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales’s exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In “The Artist’s Voice” we meet one of the world’s foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in “Pilot, Copilot, Writer.” Sound can kill in “The Sounds of Early Morning.” And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn’t necessarily special—but it’s often dangerous.

In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, The Miniature Wife is an unforgettable debut.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Manuel Gonzales is a graduate of the Columbia University graduate creative writing program. He has published fiction and nonfiction in Open City, Fence, One Story, Esquire, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, and The Believer. He lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife and two children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042 ISBN 13: 9781594486043
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97815944860430000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gonzales, Manuel
Published by Riverhead Hardcover (2013)
ISBN 10: 1594486042 ISBN 13: 9781594486043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Riverhead Hardcover, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. first edition edition. 304 pages. 9.25x5.75x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk1594486042

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.48
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gonzales, Manuel
Published by Riverhead Hardcover (2013)
ISBN 10: 1594486042 ISBN 13: 9781594486043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Riverhead Hardcover, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 1594486042

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gonzales, Manuel
Published by Riverhead Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1594486042 ISBN 13: 9781594486043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Lifeways Books and Gifts
(prescott, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Riverhead Books, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 18 stories of Manuel Gonzales's exhilarating first book renders the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. Bookseller Inventory # 9781594486043

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gonzales, Manuel
Published by Riverhead Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1594486042 ISBN 13: 9781594486043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Riverhead Books, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111594486042

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds