Raj Patel Stuffed and Starved

ISBN 13: 9780002008112

Stuffed and Starved

3.93 avg rating
( 1,930 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002008112: Stuffed and Starved
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The bestselling and groundbreaking book for readers of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma and Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation

At no other time in history have people in wealthy countries had so much choice and so much abundance in what to eat. But in countries locked in a vicious cycle of poverty, there is no choice. There is no food.

Raj Patel shows us that these two extremes are deeply and inextricably linked. In Stuffed and Starved, he asks us to think about the way our food comes to us, to understand how what we buy directly affects the world’s poorest citizens and to recognize how we ourselves are poisoned by our choices. Patel gives us a broad view of the global food industry and the all-encompassing machine composed of organizations such as the World Bank and the WTO, corporate lobbyists, government agencies and the all-powerful distribution networks. He also traces the specific journey of coffee, soy and high-fructose corn syrup, from the fields to the kitchens of fast-food restaurants. Stuffed and Starved is a shocking and timely story of commercial greed, desperate hunger and inspirational alternatives to the current food system.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Raj Patel was educated at Oxford, the London School of Economics and Cornell University. He is currently a fellow at the Institute for Food and Development Policy in Oakland, California, a visiting researcher at the University of KwaZulu-Natal in South Africa and a visiting scholar at the Center for African Studies at the University of California at Berkeley. He has worked for the World Bank, interned at the WTO, consulted for the UN and been involved in international campaigns against his former employers. Visit Raj Patel at www.rajpatel.org.

Review:

One of the most dazzling books I have read in a very long time. The product of a brilliant mind, and a gift to a world hungering for justice.” (Naomi Klein, author of No Logo, The Shock Doctrine and This Changes Everything and No Is Not Enough)

“For anyone attempting to make sense of the world food crisis, or understand the links between U.S. farm policy and the ability of the world’s poor to feed themselves, Stuffed and Starved is indispensable.” (Michael Pollan, author of The Omnivore’s Dilemma and In Defense of Food)

“Compelling. At first glance, Raj is another depressing voice in the chorus. But in traveling the world researching the book, he also found hope in international social movements working to create more democratic, sustainable, and joyful food systems.” (Mark Bittman, The New York Times)

“A blistering indictment of the policies of multinational agribusiness conglomerates and charges that their drive for profit at any cost has left the developing world starving while wealthy countries like the United States are experiencing epidemic obesity rates and related health problems.” (Newsweek)

“Patel’s broad treatment helps the layman connect the dots, as well as hear the voices of those who occupy the lower rungs of the global food chain.” (Time magazine)

“A book full of insight, that makes an important contribution to understanding that the politics of food is not a narrow matter of shopping, ethical or otherwise.” (The Guardian (UK))

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781846274794: Stuffed and Starved: From Farm to Fork the Hidden Battle for the World Food System

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1846274796 ISBN 13:  9781846274794
Publisher: ATLANTIC BOOKS: GROVE ATLANTIC LTD, 2012
Softcover

9781554680115: Stuffed And Starved

Harper..., 2009
Softcover

9781846270109: Stuffed and Starved: Markets, Power and the Hidden Battle for the World Food System

Portob..., 2007
Hardcover

9781846270116: Stuffed and Starved: The Hidden Battle for the World Food System

Melvil..., 2008
Softcover

9781863953986: Stuffed & Starved : markets, Power & the hidden Battle for the World Food System

Black Inc, 2007
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Raj Patel
Published by HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 0002008114 ISBN 13: 9780002008112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
24/7 BOOKS
(Ypsilanti, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: New. 100% buyer satisfaction guarantee. *Some of our items are sealed to protect them during shipping and to maintain their listed condition* International orders over 2lbs may be subject to shipping price adjustments. Seller Inventory # mon0000083212

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Raj Patel
Published by HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 0002008114 ISBN 13: 9780002008112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0002008114

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Raj Patel
Published by HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 0002008114 ISBN 13: 9780002008112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: New. Second Impression. Seller Inventory # DADAX0002008114

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Raj Patel
Published by Harpercollins Canada
ISBN 10: 0002008114 ISBN 13: 9780002008112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Canada. Hardcover. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780002008112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.29
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Raj Patel
Published by HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 0002008114 ISBN 13: 9780002008112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110002008114

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Patel, Raj
Published by Harpercollins Canada (2008)
ISBN 10: 0002008114 ISBN 13: 9780002008112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Canada, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. 438 pages. 9.25x6.50x1.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zr0002008114

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds