Hot Hand

ISBN 13: 9780008285296

Hot Hand

)  
9780008285296: Hot Hand
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ben Cohen
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2020)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2020. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. 'A feast for anyone interested in the secrets of excellence.' Andre Agassi, winner of eight Grand Slam titles and bestselling author of Open For fans of Charles Duhig, Malcolm Gladwell and Nate Silver, a brilliant and buoyant investigation into the existence (or not) of hot streaks. For decades, psychologists and economists have studied the science of streaks to determine whether the 'hot hand' exists. Is there such a thing as being in the zone? Or it simply a case of seeing patterns in randomness? Genius scholars and Nobel Prize winners have dedicated years to answering this question. A substantial number of the decisions we make each day are rooted in two opposing beliefs: that if something happened before, it will happen again - or if it happened before, it probably won't happen again. The Hot Hand is an incredibly entertaining and provocative investigation into the seductive idea that streaks not only exist but can be created. Every day we look for patterns in coincidence, and coincidence in patterns. Is there a hidden logic that defies our basic understanding of probability? If we recognize someone has a hot hand, can we adjust to take advantage? If we mistakenly assume they have the hot hand, what are the costs? What happens when we're wrong - and what happens when maybe we were right all along? To answer these questions, Ben Cohen embarks on a kaleidoscopic investigation that ranges from the magical night that forever changed NBA's superstar Stephen Curry's life to a billionaire investor who made a fortune betting against streaks; the mystery of a missing World War II hero to the authentication of a lost Van Gogh painting; how Shakespeare's success was abetted by a flea to how Spotify had to make its shuffle feature less random to feel more random. The Hot Hand takes us to the jungles of the Amazon, a sugar-beet farm in the northern United States, and strip mall arcades to show us how recognition of patterns can be both fruitful - and disastrous. Seller Inventory # AA89780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Cohen, Ben
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2020)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2020. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FC-9780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Ben Cohen (author)
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2020-03-19, London (2020)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2020-03-19, London, 2020. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.29
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Cohen, Ben
Published by HarperCollins (2020)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins, 2020. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0005184322

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.37
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Cohen, Ben
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 32768839-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Cohen, Ben
Published by HarperCollins (2020)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:

Book Description HarperCollins, 2020. Condition: New. 2020. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.72
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Ben Cohen
Published by HarperCollins 2019-03-21 (2019)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins 2019-03-21, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.09
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Ben Cohen
Published by HarperCollins 2019-03-21 (2019)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins 2019-03-21, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-HCL-9780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.09
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Ben Cohen
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Cohen, Ben
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2020)
ISBN 10: 0008285292 ISBN 13: 9780008285296
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2020. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FC-9780008285296

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book