Leaf Storm (International Writers)

3.59 avg rating
( 5,694 ratings by Goodreads )
9780140157482: Leaf Storm (International Writers)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

As a blizzard of warehouses and amusement parlours and slums descends on the small town of Macondo, the inhabitants reel at the accompanying stench of rubbish that makes their home unrecognisable. When the banana company leaves town as fast as it arrived, all they are left with is a void of decay. Living in this devastated and soulless wasteland is one last honourable man, the Colonel, who is determined to fulfil a longstanding promise, no matter how unpalatable it may be. With the death of the detested Doctor, he must provide an honourable burial - and incur the wrath of the rest of Macondo, who would rather see the Doctor rot, forgotten and unattended.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

'Garcia Marquez has extraordinary strength and firmness of imagination and writes with the calmness of a man who knows exactly what wonders he can perform. Strange things happen in the land of Marquez. As with Emerson, Poe, Hawthorne, every sentence breaks the silence of a vast emptiness, the famous New World 'solitude' that is the unconscious despair of his characters but the sign of Marquez's genius.'

About the Author:

Gabriel Garcia Marquez (1927- ) was born in Aracataca, Colombia. His most recent book, Memories of My Melancholy Whores, is his first new novel to be published in a decade and is available as a Penguin Paperback. He is the author of several novels, works of non-fiction and collections of short stories, including Leaf Storm (1955); One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967); The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975); Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981) and The General in His Labyrinth (1989). He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780060127794: Leaf Storm and Other Stories

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0060127791 ISBN 13:  9780060127794
Publisher: Harper & Row, 1972

9780380013234: Leaf Storm and Other Stories

Avon, 1973

9780060906993: Leaf Storm (Harper Colophon Books)

Harper..., 1990

9780809590537: Leaf Storm: And Other Stories

Borgo Pr, 1991

9780060751586: Innocent Erendira: and Other Stories (Perennial Classics)

Harper..., 2005

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140157484 ISBN 13: 9780140157482
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 1996. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0140157484

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 66.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds