Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

3.83 avg rating
( 606 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143125051: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“Terrific. . .Rayya’s stories blew mine away.” – Elizabeth Gilbert
 
“A classic, blood-stained love letter to bohemian NYC.” – Craig Marks

When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early.

Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias’s passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets—between her visits to jail.

This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias’s wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that’s sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Rayya Elias was born in Aleppo, Syria, in 1960 and moved to Detroit in 1967. She is a musician, hairdresser, filmmaker, and also sells real estate to make some extra scratch. She lives in New York City and Little York, New Jersey.

Review:

“Elias’ spiky, punky memoir takes us from her idyllic Syrian childhood to her plunge into sex, drugs, rock’n’roll, and more drugs in New York City’s East Village.”
Elle
 
“More than a memoir, Elias’ tale –from Syria in the 1960s to New York in the 1980s – offers a street-level snapshot of some of history’s most critical time periods.  Through her intimate storytelling, we get a glimpse into the highly personal struggles of addiction and the powerlessness of those caught in its grip.” 
Bust Magazine

“Much more than a recovery memoir, this big-hearted, funny book is a truthful American story.”
—Piper Kerman, author of Orange Is the New Black, in The Week

“Rayya Elias's life reads like Huck Finn on heroin. Her story of fleeing Syria as a child,  growing up in Detroit and spending her young adulthood trolling around the East Village is as American as they come, including as it does immigration, addiction and hard won deliverance. Through it all Elias's voice burns fire hot and is completely engaging.”
—Darcey Steinke
 
“Rayya’s writing doesn’t come out on the page feeling like it was squeezed from a standard-issue literary toothpaste tube. Instead, her stories are like tough little stray creatures, born in the lowest hollows of the dirtiest street corners, which then – as you watch, breath held – fight their way to rapture.” 
—Elizabeth Gilbert
 
 “Rayya Elias's Harley Loco grabs you by the throat on the very first page, and then never stops shaking you -- even after you've closed the book. It's a punk song disguised as a memoir: raw, slashing, gritty, and shot through with all the wild confusion of youth. But it's also wise, unpredictable, and relentlessly affecting.” 
—Jonathan Miles

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780670785162: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0670785164 ISBN 13:  9780670785162
Publisher: Viking, 2013
Hardcover

9781408837696: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair and Post-punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Blooms..., 2014
Softcover

9781408837672: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair and Post-punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Blooms..., 2013
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rayya Elias
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125052 ISBN 13: 9780143125051
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. "Terrific. . .Rayya's stories blew mine away." - Elizabeth Gilbert "A classic, blood-stained love letter to bohemian NYC." - Craig Marks When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early. Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias's passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets--between her visits to jail. This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias's wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that's sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson. Seller Inventory # BZV9780143125051

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Rayya Elias
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125052 ISBN 13: 9780143125051
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. "Terrific. . .Rayya's stories blew mine away." - Elizabeth Gilbert "A classic, blood-stained love letter to bohemian NYC." - Craig Marks When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early. Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias's passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets--between her visits to jail. This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias's wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that's sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson. Seller Inventory # BTE9780143125051

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Elizabeth Gilbert , Elizabeth Gilbert ; Rayya Elias, Rayya Elias
ISBN 10: 0143125052 ISBN 13: 9780143125051
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 19751558-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.52
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Elias, Rayya
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125052 ISBN 13: 9780143125051
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Books, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB00RWQQT50

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds