Home Cooking: A Writer in the Kitchen

4.19 avg rating
( 5,294 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780241145715: Home Cooking: A Writer in the Kitchen
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, "Home Cooking" is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong. Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise. "Home Cooking" will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover. Praise for Laurie Colwin: 'Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson 'I have in my kitchen a book called "Home Cooking". And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old-Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book. I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read "The Silver Palate Cookbook" standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna Quindlen Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - "Happy All the Time", "Family Happiness", "Goodbye Without Leaving", "A Big Storm Knocked It Over" and "Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object" - three collections of short stories - "Passion and Affect", "The Lone Pilgrim" and "Another Marvellous Thing" - and two collections of essays, "Home Cooking" and "More Home Cooking". Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Laurie Colwin
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0241145716 ISBN 13: 9780241145715
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater.Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, Home Cooking is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong.Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise. Home Cooking will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover.Praise for Laurie Colwin:'Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson'I have in my kitchen a book called Home Cooking. And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old-Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book. I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read The Silver Palate Cookbook standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna QuindlenLaurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780241145715

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Colwin, Laurie
Published by Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 0241145716 ISBN 13: 9780241145715
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd. Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, this title is author's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, she regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong. Num Pages: 208 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: WBA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 216 x 154 x 17. Weight in Grams: 270. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780241145715

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Colwin, Laurie
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2012)
ISBN 10: 0241145716 ISBN 13: 9780241145715
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2012. Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, this title is author's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, she regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong. Num Pages: 208 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: WBA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 216 x 154 x 17. Weight in Grams: 270. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780241145715

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Colwin, Laurie
Published by Fig Tree
ISBN 10: 0241145716 ISBN 13: 9780241145715
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fig Tree. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0241145716 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # DG#JI319374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Colwin, Laurie (Author)
Published by Fig Tree (2012)
ISBN 10: 0241145716 ISBN 13: 9780241145715
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fig Tree, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 208 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0241145716

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.67
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Laurie Colwin
Published by Fig Tree (2012)
ISBN 10: 0241145716 ISBN 13: 9780241145715
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fig Tree, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0241145716n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 100.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds