Items related to Weddings of the Times

Weddings of the Times

3.44 avg rating
( 48 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312380915: Weddings of the Times
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

You are cordially invited to celebrate

A Parody of

The New York Times

Wedding Announcements

by

Kasper Hauser

Along with fully illustrated guides to:

Wedding-night sex,

Honeymoon hot spots,

Formalwear malfunctions,

and much, much more.

At four o'clock in the Afternoon.

Or is it three o'clock?

Didn't you bring the invitation?

Huh? Where the hell is the turnoff?

Back there. I think I saw a paper plate and some balloons.

What's wrong?

I just need to eat something. I'm fine.

Remind me how we know these people?

"In this collection, Kasper Hauser reminds us that a wedding announcement is a window into the most goofball daydream a couple can have about itself.... These are not parodies, but little human stories, full of want and hope, even when they involve falconry."

---from the foreword by John Hodgman

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

The KASPER HAUSER COMEDY GROUP is Rob Baedeker, Dan Klein, James Reichmuth, and John Reichmuth. In addition to performing live shows in the U.S. and Europe, the group's members have appeared on Comedy Central and on Public Radio International. The Kasper Hauser podcast, produced by The Sound of Young America, was selected as an iTunes Best Podcast in 2006, nominated for a 2008 Rooftop Award for Best Comedy Podcast, and chosen as "Podcast of the Week" by the Times of London.

Review:

“Reading this blurb is a form of inefficiency, because to know that this book is madly funny, full of wild invention, and definitively satirizes one of the most banal and loathsome of all American institutions, all you have to do is skip this blurb and open the book to any page. But if you've made it this far, it's too late. Sorry for wasting your time. OPEN THE BOOK.” ―George Saunders, author of CivilWarLand in Bad Decline and Pastoralia on Sky Maul

“You will laugh yourself sad at this fake catalog, lovingly crafted from the finest comedy by a couple of brilliant, funny douchebags.” ―Patton Oswalt on Sky Maul

“The D.U.I. Mask really works!” ―David Foster Wallace on Sky Maul

“Not since the days of Not the New York Times and The Journal of Irreproducible Results has the sly, surprising parody of otherwise ignored cultural detritus seemed so sharp and overdue; not since the days of the actual feral child named Kasper Hauser has humor writing been so nimble, hungry, wiry, and covered with a fine, catlike fur.” ―John Hodgman, author of Areas of My Expertise and contributor to The Daily Show with Jon Stewart on Sky Maul

SkyMaul provides great reading on a plane, particularly on those long flights, because I usually forget to bring a book. I was disappointed that some of the items were on back order and, I'm informed, may not be available at all. But the fact that the catalog is available means that THE TERRORISTS HAVE NOT WON!” ―Fred Willard on Sky Maul

“This is the funniest catalog I've ever read. And they didn't even go with the old lady holding the giant 'massager.' Funny and classy.” ―Joel Stein, LA Times on Sky Maul

“This is the catalog that SHOULD be on every plane! A perfect absurdist comment on just how odd sky shopping truly is! I wish I'd had it on my last flight. Instead, I had to watch The Ice Princess.” ―Nicole Parker, MADtv on Sky Maul

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Dan Klein
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 530ZZZ009AF7_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Dan Klein; Robert Baedeker; John Reichmuth; James Reichmuth; Kasper Hauser
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Softcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ009HE4_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Dan Klein; Robert Baedeker; John Reichmuth; James Reichmuth; Kasper Hauser
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Softcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # CR-WDS-9780312380915

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Kasper Hauser Comedy Group
Published by Griffin Publishing, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. In the vein of "The Onion", "Weddings of the Times" sends up the overly precious, most envy-inspiring part of the paper: the wedding section. This terrific parody features wedding announcements from zombie brides, pet nuptials, disgustingly blissful yoga partnerships, lumberjack/wood-nymph unions, and many more. It's all here, along with wedding night sex tips, honeymoon destination guide, the wedding-book bestseller list, and more. Fully-illustrated throughout, "Weddings of the Times" does for the "Times'" Wedding Section what SkyMaul did for in-flight catalogs. The San Franciscan comedy group Kasper Hauser has created a smart, gleefully acerbic satire that follows in the footsteps of the classic not the "New York Times" and off the "Wall Street Journal". Seller Inventory # AAV9780312380915

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Dan Klein; Robert Baedeker; John Reichmuth; James
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Softcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|VCF. Seller Inventory # OTF-Y-9780312380915

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

6.

Reichmuth, James; Baedeker, Robert; Reichmuth, John; Klein, Dan
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6077998-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Dan, Klein
Published by Griffin Publishing (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New PAP Quantity: 15
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780312380915

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Dan, Klein
Published by St. Martins Press-3PL (2017)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2017; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780312380915_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.76
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Klein, Dan
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780312380915

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.69
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Dan Klein
Published by St. Martin's Griffin 2009-06-09 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312380917 ISBN 13: 9780312380915
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-LSI-9780312380915

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 20.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book