Nicholas Griffin The Requiem Shark

ISBN 13: 9780316848084

The Requiem Shark

3.64 avg rating
( 162 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316848084: The Requiem Shark
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Set in the 18th century's golden age of piracy, this is the tale of young recruit, William Williams. As he learns to negotiate the seas of the Caribbean and West Africa, Williams records the conflicts with merchantmen and whores, tribesmen and soldiers who populated the ends of the known world.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nick Griffin researched this first novel by spending a month sailing on a replica 18th Century tall ship in a the Caribbean. The result is total authenticity.

Review:

Inspired ... there are moments of humour offset by vivid descriptions of lust, drunkenness, disease and deceit ... an authentic account of early eighteenth-century piracy * HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW * Exciting and occasionally gruesome debut swashbuckler that replaces Hollywood conventions of swordplay and melodramatic revenge with brutally frank historical realism ... Plenty of action and horrific thrills, without a salty cliche in sight. A splendid debut * KIRKUS REVIEW * This rousing debut set aboard an eighteenth century pirate ship tells a skilfully crafted hypnotic tale abounding in mayhem and murder ... Concluding his yarn with a clever triple twist, Griffin proves himself an unusually fine chronicler of high-seas adventure * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY * A marvellously exciting and breathless book ... has taken an old-fashioned subject and breathed into it modernity and considerable wit * SPECTATOR * Battles, storms and doomed young love will appeal to fans of Robert Louis Stevenson and Errol Flynn ... faultlessly rendered * INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY * A gory and glorious tale of piracy..The writing is assured, and the use of journals enhances the plot and characters. Nicholas Griffin has taken an old-fashioned subject and breathed into it modernity and considerable wit. * SPECTATOR * Fascinating research... A wonderfully original blend of pastiche and the raciest action writing you'll find anywhere. * Julian Rathbone, author LAST ENGLISH KING * Griffin records in prose of studied ease that is utterly his own. The narrative is almost flawless * Ross Leckie, author of HANNIBAL * Remarkable ... a vivid and authentic picture of life at sea that is second to none. What Griffin does not know about pirates is not worth a ship's biscuit ... there is more than enough action and adventure, blood and guts, disease and death, love and cruelty, acts of loyalty and deeds of deceit to keep all but the most squeamish turning the pages * DAILY MAIL *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780349111834: The Requiem Shark

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0349111839 ISBN 13:  9780349111834
Publisher: Time Warner Books Uk, 2000
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Griffin, Nicholas
Published by Little, Brown & Company (1999)
ISBN 10: 0316848085 ISBN 13: 9780316848084
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Little, Brown & Company, 1999. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110316848085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 44.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown & Company
ISBN 10: 0316848085 ISBN 13: 9780316848084
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Little, Brown & Company. Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk0316848085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.49
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little Brown & Co (1999)
ISBN 10: 0316848085 ISBN 13: 9780316848084
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Little Brown & Co, 1999. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0316848085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown (1999)
ISBN 10: 0316848085 ISBN 13: 9780316848084
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Little, Brown, 1999. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0316848085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 93.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown (1999)
ISBN 10: 0316848085 ISBN 13: 9780316848084
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:

Book Description Little, Brown, 1999. Condition: New. BEST BUY.BRAND NEW BOOK.OFX/DD. Seller Inventory # 804301

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 99.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown & Company (1999)
ISBN 10: 0316848085 ISBN 13: 9780316848084
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Little, Brown & Company, 1999. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition - may be Reissue. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0316848085n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 111.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds