Eisner, Will A Contract with God

ISBN 13: 9780393328042

A Contract with God

4.07 avg rating
( 10,556 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9780393328042: A Contract with God
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The first graphic novel―a mesmerizing fictional chronicle of a universal American experience.

Through a quartet of four interwoven stories, A Contract With God express the joy, exuberance, tragedy, and drama of life on the mythical Dropsie Avenue in the Bronx. This is the legendary book that launched a new art form and reaffirmed Will Eisner as one of the great pioneers of American graphics.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Four powerful dramas recall tenement life in 1930s New York--an absolute must for fans of Bernard Malamud, Philip Roth,and Isaac Singer. The storytelling is straightforward: sometimes heart warming, sometimes heart breaking. It's printed in a single sepia-colored ink, which adds to the nostalgic feel of the book and includes "A Contract with God," "The Street Singer," "The Supper," and "Cookalein."

About the Author:

Born in New York City, Will Eisner (1917–2005) was the author of the legendary comic strip The Spirit, as well as fifteen graphic novels and three influential instructional textbooks. The comic industry’s top awards, the Eisner Awards, are named in his honor.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780393609189: A Contract with God: And Other Tenement Stories (Centennial Edition) (The Will Eisner Library)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0393609189 ISBN 13:  9780393609189
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, 2017
Hardcover

9780878160181: Contract With God

Kitche..., 1985
Softcover

9781563896743: A Contract with God and Other Tenement Stories

DC Comics, 2000
Softcover

9780894370359: A Contract with God and Other Tenement Stories

Barone..., 1978
Softcover

9780894370458: A Contract with God and Other Tenement Stories

Barone..., 1978
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eisner, Will
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2006)
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2006. Paperback. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780393328042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Eisner, Will
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 4389267-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Eisner, Will
Published by W. W. Norton & Company 12/1/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company 12/1/2006, 2006. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. A Contract with God. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780393328042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Will Eisner
Published by WW Norton & Co, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description WW Norton & Co, United States, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Through a quartet of four interwoven stories, A Contract With God express the joy, exuberance, tragedy, and drama of life on the mythical Dropsie Avenue in the Bronx. This is the legendary book that launched a new art form and reaffirmed Will Eisner as one of the great pioneers of American graphics. Seller Inventory # AAH9780393328042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Eisner, Will
Published by W. W. Norton and#38; Company (2007)
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description W. W. Norton and#38; Company, 2007. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # WN-9780393328042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Will Eisner
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. 1st. Paperback. A revolutionary novel, A Contract With God re-creates the neighborhood of Will Eisner's youth through a quartet of four interwoven stories. Expressing the joy, exuberance, tragedy, and .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 182 pages. 0.367. Seller Inventory # 9780393328042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Eisner, Will
Published by W. W. Norton & Company 2006-12-17 (2006)
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company 2006-12-17, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. 039332804X Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # DIAM-DEC148173

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Will Eisner (author)
Published by W. W. Norton & Company 2007-01-16, New York (2007)
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company 2007-01-16, New York, 2007. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780393328042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Will Eisner
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2006)
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Seller Inventory # DADAX039332804X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Eisner, Will
ISBN 10: 039332804X ISBN 13: 9780393328042
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 4389267-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.72
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book