American History Dave Cullen Columbine

ISBN 13: 9780446546935

Columbine

4.26 avg rating
( 45,516 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780446546935: Columbine

On April 20, 1999, two boys left an indelible stamp on the American psyche. Their goal was simple: to blow up their school, Oklahoma-City style, and to leave "a lasting impression on the world." Their bombs failed, but the ensuing shooting defined a new era of school violence-irrevocably branding every subsequent shooting "another Columbine."


When we think of Columbine, we think of the Trench Coat Mafia; we think of Cassie Bernall, the girl we thought professed her faith before she was shot; and we think of the boy pulling himself out of a school window -- the whole world was watching him. Now, in a riveting piece of journalism nearly ten years in the making, comes the story none of us knew. In this revelatory book, Dave Cullen has delivered a profile of teenage killers that goes to the heart of psychopathology. He lays bare the callous brutality of mastermind Eric Harris, and the quavering, suicidal Dylan Klebold, who went to prom three days earlier and obsessed about love in his journal.


The result is an astonishing account of two good students with lots of friends, who came to stockpile a basement cache of weapons, to record their raging hatred, and to manipulate every adult who got in their way. They left signs everywhere, described by Cullen with a keen investigative eye and psychological acumen. Drawing on hundreds of interviews, thousands of pages of police files, FBI psychologists, and the boy's tapes and diaries, he gives the first complete account of the Columbine tragedy.


In the tradition of HELTER SKELTER and IN COLD BLOOD, COLUMBINE is destined to be a classic. A close-up portrait of hatred, a community rendered helpless, and the police blunders and cover-ups, it is a compelling and utterly human portrait of two killers-an unforgettable cautionary tale for our times.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Winner of the Edgar® Award for Best Fact Crime Book

New York Times: One of the 100 Notable Books of the Year

Los Angeles Times: Favorite Nonfiction of the Year

Publishers Weekly: Nonfiction Best Book of the Year

Chicago Tribune: Favorite Nonfiction of the Year

Salon.com: Nonfiction Best Book of the Year

On April 20, 1999, two boys went to their high school with bombs and guns. Their goal was to leave "a lasting impression on the world." The horror they inflicted left an indelible stamp on the American psyche.

Now in this definitive account, Dave Cullen presents a compelling and utterly human profile of teenage killers. With a keen investigative eye and psychological acumen, he draws on hundreds of interviews, thousands of pages of police files, FBI psychologists, and the boys' tapes and diaries. This close-up portrait of violence, a community rendered helpless, and police blunders and cover-ups is an unforgettable cautionary tale for our time. In the tradition of Helter Skelter and In Cold Blood, COLUMBINE is a revelatory work destined to be a classic.

About the Author:

Dave Cullen is a journalist and author who has contributed to Slate, Salon, and the New York Times. He is considered the nation's foremost authority on the Columbine killers, and has also written extensively on Evangelical Christians, gays in the military, politics, and pop culture. A graduate of the MFA program at the University of Boulder, Cullen has won several writing awards, including a GLAAD Media Award, Society of Professional Journalism awards, and several Best of Salon citations.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Dave Cullen
ISBN 10: 0446546933 ISBN 13: 9780446546935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0446546933BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dave Cullen
Published by Twelve (2009)
ISBN 10: 0446546933 ISBN 13: 9780446546935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twelve, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0446546933

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Dave Cullen
Published by Twelve (2009)
ISBN 10: 0446546933 ISBN 13: 9780446546935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twelve, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110446546933

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds