Items related to Open Heart: A Cardiac Surgeon's Stories of Life...

Open Heart: A Cardiac Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table - Hardcover

 
9780465094837: Open Heart: A Cardiac Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table
View all copies of this ISBN edition
 
 
In gripping prose, one of the world's leading cardiac surgeons lays bare both the wonder and the horror of a life spent a heartbeat away from death
When Stephen Westaby witnessed a patient die on the table during open-heart surgery for the first time, he was struck by the quiet, determined way the surgeons walked away. As he soon understood, this detachment is a crucial survival strategy in a profession where death is only a heartbeat away. In Open Heart, Westaby reflects on over 11,000 surgeries, showing us why the procedures have never become routine and will never be. With astonishing compassion, he recounts harrowing and sometimes hopeful stories from his operating room: we meet a pulseless man who lives with an electric heart pump, an expecting mother who refuses surgery unless the doctors let her pregnancy reach full term, and a baby who gets a heart transplant-only to die once it's in place.
For readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal and of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Open Heart offers a soul-baring account of a life spent in constant confrontation with death.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:
Stephen Westaby is a pioneer in artificial heart technology and serves as Consultant Cardiac Surgeon at the John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford. He lives in Oxford, UK.
Review:
"In this unsentimental account, a British doctor offers gripping stories of operations and blasts the National Health Service for failing to pay for lifesaving equipment. The deaths that truly madden him are those that could have been prevented with available technologies."―New York Times Book Review, Editor's Choice

"In Open Heart, British cardiac surgeon Stephen Westaby shares often astonishing stories of his own operating-room experiences, illuminating the science and art of his specialty through the patients whose lives he has saved and, in some cases, lost.... What makes Dr. Westaby's stories so compelling...is that he can't quite suppress his humanity."―Wall Street Journal

"Refreshingly, Westaby does not put a positive spin on suffering or cleave to false optimism... a reminder that nationalized medicine might ease the racial and economic injustices that currently determine which people die too soon, but it wouldn't spell the end of medically preventable deaths."―New York Times Book Review

"Westaby's highly readable Open Heart is part memoir, part how-to (perform open-heart surgery, that is) and part All Creatures Great and Small-style reflection, with stories throughout about cases he's encountered during his journey from eager medical student to seen-it-all senior physician... a heart-tugger, and a fascinating read."―BookPage

"A cracking example of a thriving sub-genre of autobiography, the medical memoir. Anyone who enjoyed the 2014 bestseller Do No Harm by the brain surgeon Henry Marsh, a friend of Westaby's, will relish [this book], too.... Each story is gripping, written in a vivid, almost brutal way that matches the blood and gore of cardiac surgery." ―Financial Times

"[Westaby's] writing is bluff, workmanlike and thrilling... a frank and absorbing memoir by a man who has done about as much direct good to his fellow human beings as it is possible to do in one lifetime." ―The Times, Book of the Week

"British surgeon and artificial heart pioneer Stephen Westaby's Open Heart is a thrilling memoir of some of his most challenging cases.... Each case is more astonishing than the next." ―Shelf Awareness

"[A] dazzling memoir." ―Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Westaby is everything you would hope from a maverick surgical genius: authoritative, engaged, passionate and opinionated. His book, annoyingly well written for someone who has penned only medical papers and handbooks, reads like a thriller, except with rather more corpses." ―The Times (UK)

"A full-frontal and thrilling portrayal. Each story in this fascinating book brings a new nail-biting surgical adventure.... A gifted surgeon, Westaby is also a natural writer.... [Open Heart] succeeds on many levels: political battle cry, chronicle of bloody feats, history of modern cardiology, tribute to patients and paean to surgery."
Daily Telegraph

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherBasic Books
  • Publication date2017
  • ISBN 10 046509483X
  • ISBN 13 9780465094837
  • BindingHardcover
  • Edition number1
  • Number of pages304
  • Rating

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Wizard Books, Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Seller Inventory # Wizard046509483X

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 17.11
Convert currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Big Bill's Books, Wimberley, TX, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Hardcover. Condition: new. Brand New Copy. Seller Inventory # BBB_new046509483X

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 17.61
Convert currency
Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Ebooksweb, Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 3-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ00AU04_ns

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 21.21
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 20 available

Seller: booksXpress, Bayonne, NJ, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 4-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Hardcover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780465094837

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 22.30
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 6 available

Seller: BookShop4U, PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 4-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 5AUZZZ000T8W_ns

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 24.68
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 5 available

Seller: GreatBookPrices, Columbia, MD, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 28068006-n

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 23.92
Convert currency
Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Ergodebooks, Houston, TX, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. In gripping prose, one of the world's leading cardiac surgeons lays bare both the wonder and the horror of a life spent a heartbeat away from deathWhen Stephen Westaby witnessed a patient die on the table during open-heart surgery for the first time, he was struck by the quiet, determined way the surgeons walked away. As he soon understood, this detachment is a crucial survival strategy in a profession where death is only a heartbeat away. In Open Heart, Westaby reflects on over 11,000 surgeries, showing us why the procedures have never become routine and will never be. With astonishing compassion, he recounts harrowing and sometimes hopeful stories from his operating room: we meet a pulseless man who lives with an electric heart pump, an expecting mother who refuses surgery unless the doctors let her pregnancy reach full term, and a baby who gets a heart transplant-only to die once it's in place.For readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal and of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Open Heart offers a soul-baring account of a life spent in constant confrontation with death. Seller Inventory # DADAX046509483X

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 28.85
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Stephen Westaby
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Grand Eagle Retail, Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Hardcover. Condition: new. Hardcover. In gripping prose, one of the world's leading cardiac surgeons lays bare both the wonder and the horror of a life spent a heartbeat away from death When Stephen Westaby witnessed a patient die on the table during open-heart surgery for the first time, he was struck by the quiet, determined way the surgeons walked away. As he soon understood, this detachment is a crucial survival strategy in a profession where death is only a heartbeat away. In Open Heart, Westaby reflects on over 11,000 surgeries, showing us why the procedures have never become routine and will never be. With astonishing compassion, he recounts harrowing and sometimes hopeful stories from his operating room: we meet a pulseless man who lives with an electric heart pump, an expecting mother who refuses surgery unless the doctors let her pregnancy reach full term, and a baby who gets a heart transplant-only to die once it's in place. For readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal and of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Open Heart offers a soul-baring account of a life spent in constant confrontation with death. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780465094837

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 28.99
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Front Cover Books, Denver, CO, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: new. Seller Inventory # FrontCover046509483X

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 25.38
Convert currency
Shipping: US$ 4.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Westaby, Stephen
Published by Basic Books, 2017
ISBN 10: 046509483X ISBN 13: 9780465094837
New Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: GF Books, Inc., Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. 1.58. Seller Inventory # 046509483X-2-1

Contact seller

Buy New

US$ 30.00
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book