Items related to Giraffes Can't Dance (Board Book)

Giraffes Can't Dance (Board Book) - Hardcover

4.32 avg rating
( 31,024 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780545392556: Giraffes Can't Dance (Board Book)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
The bestselling Giraffes Can't Dance is now a board book!

Giraffes Can't Dance is a touching tale of Gerald the giraffe, who wants nothing more than to dance. With crooked knees and thin legs, it's harder for a giraffe than you would think. Gerald is finally able to dance to his own tune when he gets some encouraging words from an unlikely friend.

With light-footed rhymes and high-stepping illustrations, this tale is gentle inspiration for every child with dreams of greatness.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
Gerald the giraffe doesn't really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. "Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," they sneer. "Oh, Gerald, you're so weird." Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock 'n' roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different "just need a different song," and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald's fickle "friends" quickly decide he's worthy of their attention again.

With this rhyming, poignant (in a cartoonish way) tale, Giles Andreae, author of Rumble in the Jungle, and numerous other picture books, shows insecure young readers that everyone can be wonderful, even those that march to the beat of a different cricket. The rhymes are somewhat awkward, but the bold, bright watercolors by Guy Parker-Rees will invite readers to kick up their heels and find their own internal harmony. (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter

From the Inside Flap:
Gerald the giraffe longs to dance, but his legs are too skinny and his neck is too long. His knees buckle whenever he tries to twirl. At the Jungle Dance, the warthogs waltz, the chimps cha-cha, and the lions tango. "Giraffes can't dance", they all jeer when it's Gerald's turn to prance.

Fortunately, there is one little creature who believes in Gerald. "Everything makes music", says the cricket, "if you really want it to". So Gerald starts swaying to his own sweet tune.

With light-footed rhymes and high-stepping illustrations, this tale is gentle inspiration for every child with dreams of greatness.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherCartwheel Books
  • Publication date2012
  • ISBN 10 0545392551
  • ISBN 13 9780545392556
  • BindingBoard book
  • Number of pages32
  • IllustratorParker-Rees Guy
  • Rating
    4.32 avg rating
    ( 31,024 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781841215655: Giraffes Can't Dance

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781841215655
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc., 2014
Softcover

9780439287197: Giraffes Can't Dance

Orchar..., 2001
Hardcover

9781408354407: Giraffes Cant Dance

Orchar..., 2018
Hardcover

9781408303702: Giraffes Can't Dance Board Book

Orchar..., 2008
Hardcover

9781408354414: Giraffes Cant Dance

Orchar..., 2019
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Andreae, Giles
Published by Cartwheel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books Unplugged
(Amherst, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Buy with confidence! Book is in new, never-used condition. Seller Inventory # bk0545392551xvz189zvxnew

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.07
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Andreae, Giles
Published by Cartwheel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published. Seller Inventory # 353-0545392551-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.07
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Andreae, Giles
Published by Cartwheel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Red's Corner
(Tucker, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). All orders ship by next business day! This is a new book. For USED books, we cannot guarantee supplemental materials such as CDs, DVDs, access codes and other materials. We are a small company and very thankful for your business!. Seller Inventory # 4CNOOA001BK3

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 2.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees (Illustrator)
Published by Cartwheel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Board book. Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Brdbk. Seller Inventory # DADAX0545392551

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Andreae, Giles
Published by Scholastic Publishers (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0545392551

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 4.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Andreae, Giles
Published by Cartwheel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New No Binding Quantity: 1
Seller:
booksXpress
(Bayonne, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description No Binding. Condition: new. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 9780545392556

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 8.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Andreae, Giles; Parker-Rees, Guy (ILT)
Published by Cartwheel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 16202833-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 9.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Andreae, Giles; Parker-Rees, Guy [Illustrator]
Published by Cartwheel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Board book. Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Seller Inventory # BKZN9780545392556

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Giles Andreae
Published by Cartwheel Books March 2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Editions Book Store
(Kannapolis, NC, U.S.A.)

Book Description New Hardcover. Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 88283

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 6.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Giles Andreae (author), Guy Parker-Rees (illustrator)
Published by Scholastic Inc. 2012-03-01 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0545392551 ISBN 13: 9780545392556
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description board book. Condition: New. Parker-Rees, Guy (illustrator). Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780545392556

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 9.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book