Items related to The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic...

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

4.36 avg rating
( 263,913 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780670025817: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat is the kind of nonfiction book that reads like a novel. Centered around the life of Joe Rantz—a farmboy from the Pacific Northwest who was literally abandoned as a child—and set during the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is a character-driven story with a natural crescendo that will have you racing to the finish. In 1936, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team raced its way to the Berlin Olympics for an opportunity to challenge the greatest in the world. How this team, largely composed of rowers from “foggy coastal villages, damp dairy farms, and smoky lumber towns all over the state,” managed to work together and sacrifice toward their goal of defeating Hitler’s feared racers is half the story. The other half is equally fascinating, as Brown seamlessly weaves in the story of crew itself. This is fast-paced and emotional nonfiction about determination, bonds built by teamwork, and what it takes to achieve glory. —Chris Schluep

About the Author:

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780143125471: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
Publisher: Penguin Books, 2014
Softcover

9781447210986: Boys In The Boat

Pan, 2014
Softcover

9780143136965: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Pengui..., 2021
Softcover

9781410459541: The Boys In The Boat

Thornd..., 2013
Hardcover

9781594137792: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Large ..., 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 067002581X-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Viking Adult (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX067002581X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 067002581X-11-19971264

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GridFreed
(North Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. In shrink wrap. Seller Inventory # 100-05096

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.45
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GridFreed
(North Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. In shrink wrap. Seller Inventory # 100-04092

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.45
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB01FMVRGRQ

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780670025817

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 067002581X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Daniel James Brown
Published by VIKING (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Hardcover. The #1 New York Times -bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36 , broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race. For readers of Unbroken , out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys' own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest. For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken" comes the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics. Brown draws on the team's own journals, photos, and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780670025817

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Daniel James Brown
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
New Hardcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany-from the author of Facing the Mountain.Soon to be a major motion picture directed by George Clooney For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times-the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys' own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest. Seller Inventory # ABZ9780670025817

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book