Items related to Middle Passage

Johnson, Charles Middle Passage

ISBN 13: 9780684855882

Middle Passage

3.85 avg rating
( 4,468 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780684855882: Middle Passage
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick...heroic in proportion...fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.

Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is lost in the underworld of 1830s New Orleans. Desperate to escape the city’s unscrupulous bill collectors and the pawing hands of a schoolteacher hellbent on marrying him, he jumps aboard the Republic, a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a voyage of metaphysical horror and human atrocity, a journey which challenges our notions of freedom, fate and how we live together. Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative and philosophical allegory.

Now with a new introduction from renowned writer and critic Stanley Crouch, this twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Middle Passage celebrates a cornerstone of the American canon and the masterwork of one of its most important writers. "Long after we’d stopped believe in the great American novel, along comes a spellbinding adventure story that may be just that" (Chicago Tribune).

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In this savage parable of the African American experience, Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave eking out a living in New Orleans in 1830, hops aboard a square rigger to evade the prim Boston schoolteacher who wants to marry him. But the Republic turns out to be a slave clipper bound for Africa. Calhoun, whose master educated him as a humanist, becomes the captain's cabin boy, and though he hates himself for acting as a lackey, he's able to help the African slaves recently taken aboard to stage a revolt before the rowdy, drunken crew can spring a mutiny. Middle Passage won the 1990 National Book Award.

About the Author:

Charles Johnson is a novelist, essayist, literary scholar, philosopher, cartoonist, screenwriter, and professor emeritus at the University of Washington in Seattle. A MacArthur fellow, his fiction includes Night HawksDr. King’s RefrigeratorDreamerFaith and the Good Thing, and Middle Passage, for which he won the National Book Award. In 2002 he received the Arts and Letters Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He lives in Seattle.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781501110528: Middle Passage

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
Publisher: Scribner, 2015
Hardcover

9780689119682: Middle Passage

Atheneum, 1990
Hardcover

9780452266384: Middle Passage

Plume, 1991
Softcover

9780862419073: Middle Passage

Paybac..., 1999
Softcover

9780330317788: Middle Passage

Black ..., 1991
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ00B36J_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ002VEK_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ002V4Y_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 532ZZZ002VEK_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # CR-WDS-9780684855882

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 531ZZZ002VEK_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
PublisherOverstocks
(Taunton, MA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 533ZZZ002VEK_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52ZZZZ002VEI_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52YZZZ00F2A9_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0684855887-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book