Owens, Delia Where the Crawdads Sing

ISBN 13: 9780735219090

Where the Crawdads Sing

 
9780735219090: Where the Crawdads Sing
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: Although this is Delia Owens’ first novel, she long ago distinguished herself as a gifted writer. In the mid-80s, Owens co-wrote with her husband Cry of the Kalahari, which was a best-selling, nonfictional account of traveling and researching Africa’s Kalahari Desert. One of the joys of that book was the Owens’ description of the natural world, and Where the Crawdads Sing is immersed in the natural world as well. The story is set in the 1950s and revolves around a young woman named Kya Clark, who is from extremely rural North Carolina. Known by others as the Marsh Girl, she lives alone in nature—but the draw of other people, and specifically love, brings her into contact with the greater world. This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told—one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You’ll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you’re done you will want to talk about it with another reader. – Chris Schluep , Amazon Book Review

About the Author:

Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa. She holds a BS in Zoology from the University of Georgia and a PhD in Animal Behavior from the University of California at Davis. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Owens, Delia
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0735219095_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Owens, Delia
Published by Putnam Publishing Group 2018-08-28 (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)

Book Description Putnam Publishing Group 2018-08-28, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780735219090B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Delia Owens
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Wilmington Books & More
(Wilmington, NC, U.S.A.)

Book Description G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ABE-1540651138659

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Owens, Delia
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0735219095

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Owens, Delia
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description G.P. Putnam's Sons. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780735219090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Delia Owens
Published by Prentice Hall Press, United States (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Prentice Hall Press, United States, 2018. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. #1 New York Times BestsellerMore than 4 million copies soldA Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book ReviewFor years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens. Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps. Seller Inventory # LIB9780735219090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Delia Owens
Published by Prentice Hall Press, United States (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Prentice Hall Press, United States, 2018. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. #1 New York Times BestsellerMore than 4 million copies soldA Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book ReviewFor years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens. Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps. Seller Inventory # LIB9780735219090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Owens, Delia
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description G.P. Putnam's Sons. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0735219095 Brand New! No Remainder Marks or Worn Dirty Overstocks!|VCF. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780735219090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Owens, Delia
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0735219095_11

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Owens, Delia
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons 8/14/2018 (2018)
ISBN 10: 0735219095 ISBN 13: 9780735219090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description G.P. Putnam's Sons 8/14/2018, 2018. Hardback or Cased Book. Condition: New. Where the Crawdads Sing. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780735219090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book