The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 1

3.81 avg rating
( 117,224 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780752883212: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 1
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Meet Flavia: Mystery Solver. Master Poisoner. 11 Years Old.

England 1950. At Buckshaw, the crumbling country seat of the de Luce family, very-nearly-eleven-year-old Flavia is plotting revenge on her older sisters.

Then a dead bird is left on the doorstep, which has an extraordinary effect on Flavia's eccentric father, and a body is found in the garden. As the police descend on Buckshaw, Flavia decides to do some investigating of her own.

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday

'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian

Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:
1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag
3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows
5. Speaking From Among the Bones
6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust
8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd
9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders:
The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite

(Mail on Sunday)

Certain to become a national treasure (Daily Mail)

Delightfully entertaining (Guardian)

Flavia is enchanting (New York Times)

A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing (Independent)

Flavia is mercilessly addictive (Daily Telegraph)

A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises (Essentials)

At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference (Choice)

It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild (Crime Squad)

Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous (Deadly Pleasures)

Book Description:

Cosy crime historical mysteries featuring Flavia de Luce - the teenage amateur sleuth you'll never forget. Perfect for fans of Midsomer Murders and Agatha Christie's Miss Marple.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alan Bradley
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Meet Flavia: Mystery Solver. Master Poisoner. 11 Years Old.England 1950. At Buckshaw, the crumbling country seat of the de Luce family, very-nearly-eleven-year-old Flavia is plotting revenge on her older sisters.Then a dead bird is left on the doorstep, which has an extraordinary effect on Flavia s eccentric father, and a body is found in the garden. As the police descend on Buckshaw, Flavia decides to do some investigating of her own.Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries: The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite Mail on Sunday A cross between Dodie Smith s I Capture The Castle and the Addams family.delightfully entertaining GuardianFans of M. C. Beaton s Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman s Bag3. A Red Herring Without Mustard4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows5. Speaking From Among the Bones6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew d9. The Grave s a Fine and Private PlaceIf you re looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *. Seller Inventory # AA29780752883212

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alan Bradley
Published by Orion (2010)
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000293030

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Alan Bradley
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Meet Flavia: Mystery Solver. Master Poisoner. 11 Years Old.England 1950. At Buckshaw, the crumbling country seat of the de Luce family, very-nearly-eleven-year-old Flavia is plotting revenge on her older sisters.Then a dead bird is left on the doorstep, which has an extraordinary effect on Flavia s eccentric father, and a body is found in the garden. As the police descend on Buckshaw, Flavia decides to do some investigating of her own.Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries: The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite Mail on Sunday A cross between Dodie Smith s I Capture The Castle and the Addams family.delightfully entertaining GuardianFans of M. C. Beaton s Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman s Bag3. A Red Herring Without Mustard4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows5. Speaking From Among the Bones6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew d9. The Grave s a Fine and Private PlaceIf you re looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *. Seller Inventory # AA29780752883212

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alan Bradley
Published by Orion (2010)
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion, 2010. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EH9780752883212

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.48
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Alan Bradley
Published by Orion Publishing Co
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780752883212

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alan Bradley
Published by Orion (2010)
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Softcover Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion, 2010. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780752883212_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Alan Bradley
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0752883216. Seller Inventory # ST0752883216

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Alan Bradley
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Meet Flavia: Mystery Solver. Master Poisoner. 11 Years Old.England 1950. At Buckshaw, the crumbling country seat of the de Luce family, very-nearly-eleven-year-old Flavia is plotting reven.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 384 pages. 0.272. Seller Inventory # 9780752883212

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bradley, Alan
Published by Bantam Books
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0752883216 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # DG#IJ317455

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Alan Bradley (author)
Published by Orion 2010-02-04, London (2010)
ISBN 10: 0752883216 ISBN 13: 9780752883212
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion 2010-02-04, London, 2010. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780752883212

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book