The Fourth Turning: An American Prophecy - What the Cycles of History Tell Us About America's Next Rendezvous with Destiny

4.06 avg rating
( 1,117 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780767900461: The Fourth Turning: An American Prophecy - What the Cycles of History Tell Us About America's Next Rendezvous with Destiny

First came the postwar High, then the Awakening of the '60s and '70s, and now the Unraveling.  This audacious and provocative book tells us what to expect just beyond the start of the next century.  Are you ready for the Fourth Turning?

Strauss and Howe will change the way you see the world--and your place in it.  In The Fourth Turning, they apply their generational theories to the cycles of history and locate America in the middle of an unraveling period, on the brink of a crisis.  How you prepare for this crisis--the Fourth Turning--is intimately connected to the mood and attitude of your particular generation.  Are you one of the can-do "GI generation," who triumphed in the last crisis?  Do you belong to the mediating "Silent Majority," who enjoyed the 1950s High?  Do you fall into the "awakened" Boomer category of the 1970s and 1980s, or are you a Gen-Xer struggling to adapt to our splintering world?  Whatever your stage of life, The Fourth Turning offers bold predictions about how all of us can prepare, individually and collectively, for America's next rendezvous with destiny.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The Fourth Turning continues the project of mapping out the place of generations in history, a project begun in the authors' earlier books Generations and 13th Gen. If millennial fever takes hold, The Fourth Turning may be only the first of an impending wave of pseudo-scholarly tracts prognosticating future (but imminent!) doom as we collectively close the books on this millennium. Those expecting a serious or dry tome might be put off by the authors' taste for bulleted text and catchy phrasings, but can you blame these guys for wanting to make impending peril as exciting as possible? After all, they think we are headed toward "events on par with the Revolution, the Civil War, or World War II" in the next 20 years. Mixing solid understanding of present generational divisions, with some fairly broad generalizations, Strauss and Howe promise to move from history to prophecy. Fans of Future Shock, Megatrends, or Powershift will be familiar with the authors' style of writing and not at all put off by the book's reach or style. Their take on history provides an intriguing (if not always reliable) lens through which to view the past, present, and maybe even the future.

From the Publisher:

"I put down The Fourth Turning with a mixture of terror and excitement....If Strauss and Howe are right, they will take their place among the great American prophets."
--David Kaiser, Boston Globe

"One of the best efforts to give us an integrated vision of where we
are going."
--Wall Street Journal

"A startling vision of what the cycles of history predict for the future."
--USA Weekend

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97807679004610000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Broadway Books (1997)
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books, 1997. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "I put downThe Fourth Turningwith a mixture of terror and excitement.If Strauss and Howe are right, they will take their place among the great American prophets." --David Kaiser,Boston Globe "One of the best efforts to give us an integrated vision of where we are going." --Wall Street Journal "A startling vision of what the cycles of history predict for the future." --USA Weekend. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0767900464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Broadway Books
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0767900464 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2122114029

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0767900464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Broadway Books (1997)
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0767900464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Broadway Books, U.S.A. (1997)
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Wordtown Books
(ferring, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books, U.S.A., 1997. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0020419

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Broadway Books (1997)
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0767900464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Broadway Books
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0767900464 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0767900464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Broadway Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 400 pages. 9.50x6.25x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0767900464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Strauss, William; Howe, Neil
Published by Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group Inc
ISBN 10: 0767900464 ISBN 13: 9780767900461
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
L Books
(Montrouge, France)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group Inc. see description. Book Condition: New. AUTHOR: Strauss, William. PUBLISHER: Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group Inc. FORMAT: Paperback. DATE: 29/12/1997. EAN : 9780767900461. Bookseller Inventory # RS-143239

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 44.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.65
From France to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book