Items related to Dragons of Heaven

Helms, Alyc Dragons of Heaven

ISBN 13: 9780857664327

Dragons of Heaven

3.48 avg rating
( 338 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780857664327: Dragons of Heaven
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Missy Masters inherited more than the usual genetic cocktail from her estranged grandfather. She also got his preternatural control of shadows and his enduring legacy as the legendary vigilante superhero, Mr Mystic. After a little work the costume fits OK, but Missy is far from experienced at fighting crime, so she journeys to China to seek the aid of Lung Huang, the ancient master who once guided her grandfather. She becomes embroiled in the politics of Lung Huang and his siblings, the allegedly mythical nine dragon-guardians of all creation. When Lung Di - Lung Huang's brother and mortal enemy - raises a magical barrier that cuts off China from the rest of the world, it falls to the new Mr Mystic to prove herself by taking down the barrier. It's a superhero novel, a pulp fantasy novel, with lashings of kung fu, immense kick-ass dragons and an unfailingly sympathetic heroine - yes, it's another wonderful Angry Robot title.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

ALYC HELMS did her graduate work in anthropology and folklore, which makes her useless for just about anything except writing. She lives and writes in a dilapidated beach bungalow outside of San Francisco, near a horse trail, a troll bridge, and a raptor preserve (hopefully of the veloci - variety). The Dragons of Heaven is her debut novel.

Review:

"All the fun of pulp adventure, filtered through a twenty-first century lens. Helms isn't content simply to play in the genre; she questions it, complicates it, adds layers it didn't have eighty years ago. Missy's journey to become Mr. Mystic isn't the usual heroic training montage - but it's a hell of a lot of fun." - Marie Brennan, author of A Natural History of Dragons-"Dragons of Heaven combines superheroes, romance, ancient mythological China, and does it right." - Cassie Alexander, author of the Edie Spence series; "A tough, witty young woman who inherited her superhero grandfather's powers barrels through a rollicking Big Trouble in Little China-esque tale filled with magic, monsters and wisecracks. I loved it." - Alex Bledsoe, author of The Hum and the Shiver; "In her first novel The Dragons of Heaven, Alyc Helms explores various San Franciscos (the city as it is, was, and looks to passing tourists), as well as the creatures different cultures and their myths collectively call "dragons", with an emphasis on the Chinese version. Helms keeps this complicated mix of genres, worlds, and eras (modern, historic, mythic) in balance and in motion throughout the book, leaving me eager for more." - Farren Miller, Locus magazine; "The Dragons of Heaven combines superheroes, romance, ancient mythological China, and does it right. The world-building is stunning, and Missy's challenges feel incredibly real as do her reactions to amazing worlds she's put in. In fighting against the machinations of overly honorable yet incredibly nefarious ancient dragons, its clear she's the best chance humanity's got." - Cassie Alexander, author of the Edie Spence series; "The Dragons of Heaven is a fun read. It is a genre blend that combines urban fantasy with folkloric myth, the superhero comic, romance, and the complex family dynamics featured in 'mainstream' fiction. There is magical action driving the plot aplenty, there are moments of humor and pop culture reference. But there are also great doses of introspection, of character development for Missy, and deep themes at its core." - Skiffy & Fanty; "If you are looking for a fresh urban fantasy with superheroes, Chinese folklore, realistic heroine and a great story, then you must try it out!" - Bookworm Dreams; "The Dragons of Heaven straddles the divisions between mythology, pulp adventure, superhero comic, and bathetic tragedy. The Dragons of Heaven is fun. It's a mashup of epic genres. It's an action-packed romance spanning decades and continents. Recommended for fans of Jack Burton, Astro City, and Tea from an Empty Cup." - The Dinglehopper; "A fun debut novel that mashes up Chinese folklore, urban fantasy, comic book heroes and martial arts adventure in a lively package." - Wyrmflight; "If you want a book that is fun, funny, action-packed, thrilling, a bit romantic and sexy, joyful, whip-smart, and a good romp, The Dragons of Heaven really should be up your street." - Bastian's Book Reviews; "A nice spin on the superhero novel genre and a rather delightful reading experience as well." - The Geeky Guide to Nearly Everything

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780857664334: The Dragons of Heaven (Missy Masters)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0857664336 ISBN 13: 9780857664334
Publisher: Angry Robot, 2015
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Alyc Helms
Published by Watkins Media, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0857664328 ISBN 13: 9780857664327
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. New edition. Language: English. Brand new Book. Would you deal with the devil to save the world?Street magician Missy Masters inherited more than the usual genetic cocktail from her estranged grandfather - she also got his preternatural control of shadow and his legacy as the vigilante hero, Mr Mystic. Problem is, being a pulp hero takes more than a good fedora and a knack for witty banter, and Missy lacks the one thing Mr Mystic had: experience. Determined to live up to her birthright, Missy journeys to China to seek the aid of Lung Huang, the ancient master who once guided her grandfather.Lung Huang isn't quite as ancient as Missy expected, and she finds herself embroiled in the politics of Lung Huang and his siblings, the nine dragon-guardians of creation. When Lung Di, Lung Huang's brother and mortal enemy, raises a magical barrier that cuts off China from the rest of the world, it falls to the new Mr Mystic to prove herself by taking down the barrier. But is it too great a task for a lone adventure hero?File Under: Fantasy [ Sins of the Grandfather | Missy and Master | Geek Fu | Little Trouble in Big China ]. Seller Inventory # AA99780857664327

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Helms, Alyc
Published by Angry Robot
ISBN 10: 0857664328 ISBN 13: 9780857664327
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(Hounslow, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. pp. 336. Seller Inventory # 373569446

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Helms, Alyc
Published by Angry Robot
ISBN 10: 0857664328 ISBN 13: 9780857664327
New Softcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Drawing on the legacy of pulp superheroes like The Shadow, Missy Masters is an adventure heroine for the 21st century BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 198 x 47. Weight in Grams: 362. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780857664327

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

HELMS, ALYC
Published by Angry (2015)
ISBN 10: 0857664328 ISBN 13: 9780857664327
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 7.87x1.18x5.16 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0857664328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Helms, Alyc
Published by Angry Robot (2015)
ISBN 10: 0857664328 ISBN 13: 9780857664327
New Softcover Quantity: 10
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. Drawing on the legacy of pulp superheroes like The Shadow, Missy Masters is an adventure heroine for the 21st century BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 198 x 47. Weight in Grams: 362. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780857664327

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.47
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds