Items related to Night Film: A Novel

Pessl, Marisha Night Film: A Novel ISBN 13: 9781400067886

Night Film: A Novel - Hardcover

3.78 avg rating
( 89,470 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781400067886: Night Film: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR Cosmopolitan Kirkus Reviews BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Praise for Night Film
 
Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.”—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”The Washington Post
 
“Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.”USA Today
 
“Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.”The Boston Globe
 
“Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.”Entertainment Weekly
 
“A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”New York
 
“Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”Vanity Fair

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
An Amazon Best Book of the Month, August 2013: As she proved with her first book (Special Topics in Calamity Physics), Pessl is a sly, smart, sophisticated writer. What’s surprising about her elaborately plotted and addictive new novel is how it gets better as it grows more convoluted. I can envision a massive white board busy with diagrams and arrows to track the spider-webbed storyline. Once Pessl works past a few slow spots and finds her momentum, the story churns into a dark, propulsive, and insatiable mystery. The daughter of a reclusive horror film director is found dead, and a disgraced journalist and two sidekicks become obsessed with uncovering the truth of her death and the true identity of her infamous father, whose terrifying films (banned from theaters and found only via underground methods) depict what is “graphic and dark and gorgeous about life, thereby conquering the monsters of your mind.” Complex, shadowy, and a bit sad, Pessl’s riveting tale keeps us guessing until the final pages, along the way raising questions about reality, magic, art, fear, and celebrity. Sprinkled throughout are clever page props--website screenshots, news clippings, smudged police reports, and coffee-stained transcripts. It all holds together impressively, with a satisfying payoff that’ll leave you spent and sorry the ride is over. Special note to impatient readers (like me): stick with it, and savor it. You’ll be glad you did. --Neal Thompson
About the Author:
Marisha Pessl’s bestselling debut novel, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, won the John Sargent Sr. First Novel Prize (now the Center for Fiction’s Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize), and was selected as one of the 10 Best Books of the Year by The New York Times Book Review. Pessl grew up in Asheville, North Carolina, and currently resides in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherRandom House
  • Publication date2013
  • ISBN 10 140006788X
  • ISBN 13 9781400067886
  • BindingHardcover
  • Edition number1
  • Number of pages624
  • Rating
    3.78 avg rating
    ( 89,470 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780812979787: Night Film: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9780812979787
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2014
Softcover

9780099559245: Night Film

WINDMILL, 2014
Softcover

9780091953782: Night Film

Hutchi..., 2013
Hardcover

9780553841107: Night Film: A Novel

Random..., 2013
Softcover

9780812999013: Night Film

Random..., 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books of the Smoky Mountains
(Pflugerville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newport140006788X

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 19.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think140006788X

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 19.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Byrd Books
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. In Never used condition. Seller Inventory # Nbynew140006788X

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 22.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Wizard Books
(Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Seller Inventory # Wizard140006788X

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 26.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Brand: Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Campbell Bookstore
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # NewCamp140006788X

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 38.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Butterfly Books
(San Clemente, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # NewButterFly140006788X

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 41.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books Unplugged
(Amherst, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Buy with confidence! Book is in new, never-used condition. Seller Inventory # bk140006788Xxvz189zvxnew

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 52.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published. Seller Inventory # 353-140006788X-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 52.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Marisha Pessl
Published by Random House, New York (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity: 1
Seller:
Biblio Baggins
(Boulder, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A New and flawless First Printing of the second book by this author, Signed and Dated Sept. 23rd 2013 in silver pen directly on the black title page. Loosely inserted in the book are two glossy color photos taken by me of the author, the signing event announcement for the night of 9/23/13, a copy of my ticket, and a copy of her full-page press photo which she also kindly signed for me in silver ink. The jacket is now encased in removable crystal clear archival Brodart. All our books ship bundled in multiple layers of bubble wrap inside a sturdy box. All domestic orders get free tracking. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 000881

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 48.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pessl, Marisha
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 140006788X ISBN 13: 9781400067886
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Spot
(Sioux Falls, SD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # Abebooks590738

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 59.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book