Items related to The Tender Bar

J.R. Moehringer The Tender Bar

ISBN 13: 9781401300647

The Tender Bar

3.95 avg rating
( 39,326 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781401300647: The Tender Bar
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Long before it legally served me, the bar saved me," asserts J.R. Moehringer, and his compelling memoir The Tender Bar is the story of how and why. A Pulitzer-Prize winning writer for the Los Angeles Times, Moehringer grew up fatherless in pub-heavy Manhasset, New York, in a ramshackle house crammed with cousins and ruled by an eccentric, unkind grandfather. Desperate for a paternal figure, he turns first to his father, a DJ whom he can only access via the radio (Moehringer calls him The Voice and pictures him as "talking smoke"). When The Voice suddenly disappears from the airwaves, Moehringer turns to his hairless Uncle Charlie, and subsequently, Uncle Charlie's place of employment--a bar called Dickens that soon takes center stage. While Moehringer may occasionally resort to an overwrought metaphor (the footsteps of his family sound like "storm troopers on stilts"), his writing moves at a quick clip and his tale of a dysfunctional but tightly knit community is warmly told. "While I fear that we're drawn to what abandons us, and to what seems most likely to abandon us, in the end I believe we're defined by what embraces us," Moehringer says, and his story makes us believe it. --Brangien Davis

About the Author:

J.R. Moehringer, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2000, is a national correspondent for the Los Angeles Times and a former Niemann Fellow at Harvard University. He lives in Denver, Colorado.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780786888764: The Tender Bar: A Memoir

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
Publisher: Hyperion - Acquired Assets, 2006
Softcover

9780340828830: Tender Bar

Sceptre, 2006
Softcover

9780306828058: The Tender Bar

Hachet..., 2021
Softcover

9780340828823: The Tender Bar

SCEPTRE, 2006
Hardcover

9780786281183: The Tender Bar: A Memoir

Thornd..., 2005
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Hafa Adai Books
(Moncks Corner, SC, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # Hafa_fresh_1401300642

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think1401300642

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Soft cover Quantity: 1
Seller:
HOUSE OF PHOENIX RISING
(Torrance, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft cover. Condition: New. ADVANCED READER'S EDITION. RARE ADVANCE READER'S EDITION - The book is in NEW & UNREAD condition, no flaws or defects - SOFT COVER IN PICTORIAL WRAPS as issued. ALL BOOKS HAVE BEEN BOXED IN CLIMATE CONTROLLED STORAGE AND HAVE NOT BEEN TOUCHED BY ANY OTHER HUMAN THAN ME FOR AT LEAST THE LAST 10 YEARS - ALL BOOKS ARE SEALED AND BUBBLE WRAPPED AND SHIPPED IN BOXES - YOU CAN BUY HERE WITH CONFIDENCE KNOWING THAT A BUNCH OF RANDOM PEOPLE HAVE NOT TOUCHED YOUR BOOK - WE ALSO ACCEPT OFFERS ON OUR BOOKS, BECAUSE WE WANT TO HELP DURING THIS LOCKDOWN WHERE WE ARE PRACTICING SOCIAL DISTANCING - PHOTOS POSTED WITH OUR BOOKS ARE STOCK AND DO NOT NECESSARILY REFLECT CONDITION OR EDITION OF BOOK OFFERED FOR SALE. WE DO NOT POST THE PHOTOS OF OUR BOOKS -. Seller Inventory # 009144

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1401300642-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st. Seller Inventory # DADAX1401300642

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1401300642

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.17
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Spot
(Sioux Falls, SD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # Abebooks454584

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 1401300642 ISBN 13: 9781401300647
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(LOS ANGELES, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. In shrink wrap. Seller Inventory # Q-1401300642

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 66.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.55
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds