K. M. Soehnlein The World Of Normal Boys

ISBN 13: 9781575666617

The World Of Normal Boys

3.99 avg rating
( 2,228 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781575666617: The World Of Normal Boys
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In his stunning debut novel, The World Of Normal Boys, K.M. Soehnlein captures the spirit of a generation and an era, embodied in the haunting, unstoppable voice of thirteen-year-old Robin MacKenzie, a modern-day Holden Caulfield, whose struggle for a place in the world is as ferocious as it is real.

The time is the late 1970s--an age of gas shortages, head shops, and Saturday Night Fever. The place, suburban New Jersey. At a time when the teenagers around him are coming of age, Robin MacKenzie is coming undone. While "normal boys" are into cars, sports, and bullying their classmates, Robin enjoys day trips to New York City with his elegant mother, spinning fantastic tales for her amusement in an intimate ritual he has come to love. He dutifully plays the role of the good son for his meat-and-potatoes father, even as his own mind is a jumble of sexual confusion and painful self-doubt. But everything changes in one, horrifying instant when a tragic accident wakes his family from their middle-American dream and plunges them into a spiral of slow destruction.

As his family falls apart day by day, Robin finds himself pulling away from the unquestioned, unexamined life that has been carefully laid out for him. Small acts of rebellion lead to larger questions of what it means to stand on his own. Falling into a fevered triangle with two other outcasts, Todd Spicer and Scott Schatz, Robin embarks on an explosive odyssey of sexual self-discovery that will take him beyond the spring-green lawns of suburbia, beyond the fraying fabric barely holding together his quickly unraveling family, and into a complex future, beyond the world of normal boys.

In The World Of Normal Boys, K.M. Soehnlein has created a dazzling gem of a debut novel in the tradition of Ordinary People and A Boy's Own Story, one that sparkles with raw honesty, poetic beauty, wry insight, and a rare richness of emotion that reverberates long after the last page is read. It is a story about growing up and falling apart, of rebellion and acceptance, of unspoken lives and irreversible choices that are made.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

THE WORLD OF NORMAL BOYS has made the bestseller lists of: The San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Blade, and The Washington Blade!

From the Back Cover:

The time is the late 1970s -- an age of gas shortages, head shops, and Saturday Night Fever. The place, suburban New Jersey. At a time when the teenagers around him are coming of age, Robin MacKenzie is coming undone. While "normal boys" are into cars, sports, and bullying their classmates, Robin enjoys day trips to New York City with his elegant mother, spinning fantastic tales for her amusement in an intimate ritual he has come to love. He dutifully plays the role of the good son for his meat-and-potatoes father, even as his own mind is a jumble of sexual confusion and painful self-doubt. But everything changes in one horrifying instant, when a tragic accident wakes his family from their middle-American dream and plunges them into a spiral of slow destruction.

As his family falls apart day by day, Robin finds himself pulling away from the unquestioned, unexamined life that has been carefully laid out for him. Small acts of rebellion lead to larger questions of what it means to stand on his own. Falling into a fevered triangle with two other outcasts, Todd Spicer and Scott Schatz, Robin embarks on an explosive odyssey of sexual self-discovery that will take him beyond the spring-green lawns of suburbia, beyond the fraying fabric barely holding together his quickly unraveling family, and into a complex future, beyond the world of normal boys.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Soehnlein, K. M.
Published by Kensington (2001)
ISBN 10: 1575666618 ISBN 13: 9781575666617
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kensington, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # INGM9781575666617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

K. M. Soehnlein
Published by Kensington (2001)
ISBN 10: 1575666618 ISBN 13: 9781575666617
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kensington, 2001. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1575666618

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

K. M. Soehnlein
Published by Kensington (2001)
ISBN 10: 1575666618 ISBN 13: 9781575666617
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kensington, 2001. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB0044KY9O0

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

K. M. Soehnlein
Published by Kensington (2001)
ISBN 10: 1575666618 ISBN 13: 9781575666617
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kensington, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. First Thus. Seller Inventory # DADAX1575666618

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Soehnlein, K. M.
Published by Kensington (2001)
ISBN 10: 1575666618 ISBN 13: 9781575666617
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kensington, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111575666618

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 37.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Soechnlien, K. M.
Published by Kensington Pub Corp (2001)
ISBN 10: 1575666618 ISBN 13: 9781575666617
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Kensington Pub Corp, 2001. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. first thus edition. 296 pages. 9.25x6.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 1575666618

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds