Bone in the Throat

3.33 avg rating
( 2,326 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781582341026: Bone in the Throat

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next. With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime.

In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

"A prodigiously self-assured first novel. . . the author's comic vision goes beyond original. It is deliciously depraved."-The New York Times Book Review

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Anthony Bourdain is the executive chef at Brasserie Les Halles in New York City. He is the author of Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly and Gone Bamboo

From Publishers Weekly:

First-time author Bourdain presents a savory portion of gangster tartare spiced with salty mobspeak, coked-up chefs, wild entrepreneurs and foul-mouthed feds, served up in the colorful ambience of Manhattan's Little Italy. The FBI is using a former dentist to open and run a restaurant in a sting operation designed to catch 280-pound loan shark "Sally Wig" Patera-a crazed mafioso assigned to do the Don's dirty work. The deluded dentist thinks he really runs the Dreadnaught Grill and blows FBI cash on dumb marketing schemes instead of paying Sally's dues and vig. Meanwhile, Sally's nephew, Tommy Pagano, sous chef at the Dreadnaught, who loathes both his uncle and mob life, still feels loyal to the Family and so gives Sally after-hours use of the kitchen to "talk some business." But Tommy isn't happy when Sally and Skinny di Milito-who strips naked before his hits to cut down on blood-spatter cleanup-kill a fellow mobster and cut up the body with the chef's knife. Though the FBI pressures Tommy hard to sell out his uncle, he stays loyal, at least until the restaurant, the chef and his cooking career are threatened by Sally and Skinny, pushing him into unexpected action. The cast of this dark-humored, street-smart novel romps through Greenwich Village and Little Italy on a testosterone high in a perfect sendup of macho mobsters and feebs alike, while the kitchen antics reveal a real love for-and knowledge of-cooking, including a mouth-watering recipe for Portuguese Seafood Chowder, complete with squid, lobster, swordfish and cherrystone clams. Major ad/promo.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 16.00
US$ 3.99

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bourdain, Anthony
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing 2000-09-01 (2000)
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing 2000-09-01, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9781582341026B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Anthony Bourdain
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2000)
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 1582341028

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Anthony Bourdain
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2000)
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111582341028

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Anthony Bourdain
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2000)
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1582341028

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 43.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Anthony Bourdain
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 1582341028

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 63.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Bourdain, Anthony
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1582341028 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1615027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Anthony Bourdain
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2000)
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Media Neat
(Glenview, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. newWe Ship Every Day! Free Tracking Number Included! International Buyers Are Welcome! Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # 9999911409N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 450.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds