Anthony Bourdain Bone in the Throat

ISBN 13: 9781582341026

Bone in the Throat

3.34 avg rating
( 2,473 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781582341026: Bone in the Throat
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next. With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime.

In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

"A prodigiously self-assured first novel. . . the author's comic vision goes beyond original. It is deliciously depraved."-The New York Times Book Review

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Anthony Bourdain is the executive chef at Brasserie Les Halles in New York City. He is the author of Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly and Gone Bamboo

From Publishers Weekly:

First-time author Bourdain presents a savory portion of gangster tartare spiced with salty mobspeak, coked-up chefs, wild entrepreneurs and foul-mouthed feds, served up in the colorful ambience of Manhattan's Little Italy. The FBI is using a former dentist to open and run a restaurant in a sting operation designed to catch 280-pound loan shark "Sally Wig" Patera-a crazed mafioso assigned to do the Don's dirty work. The deluded dentist thinks he really runs the Dreadnaught Grill and blows FBI cash on dumb marketing schemes instead of paying Sally's dues and vig. Meanwhile, Sally's nephew, Tommy Pagano, sous chef at the Dreadnaught, who loathes both his uncle and mob life, still feels loyal to the Family and so gives Sally after-hours use of the kitchen to "talk some business." But Tommy isn't happy when Sally and Skinny di Milito-who strips naked before his hits to cut down on blood-spatter cleanup-kill a fellow mobster and cut up the body with the chef's knife. Though the FBI pressures Tommy hard to sell out his uncle, he stays loyal, at least until the restaurant, the chef and his cooking career are threatened by Sally and Skinny, pushing him into unexpected action. The cast of this dark-humored, street-smart novel romps through Greenwich Village and Little Italy on a testosterone high in a perfect sendup of macho mobsters and feebs alike, while the kitchen antics reveal a real love for-and knowledge of-cooking, including a mouth-watering recipe for Portuguese Seafood Chowder, complete with squid, lobster, swordfish and cherrystone clams. Major ad/promo.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780679435525: Bone in the Throat

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0679435522 ISBN 13:  9780679435525
Publisher: Villard Books, 1995
Hardcover

9781847670540: Bone in the Throat

Canong..., 2008
Softcover

9781841950969: Bone In The Throat

Canong..., 2001
Softcover

9781841952871: Bone In The Throat

Canong..., 2002
Softcover

9780862418267: Bone In The Throat

Blooms..., 2000
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Anthony Bourdain
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
New Legacy Books
(Hackettstown, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: Good. Fast shipping and order satisfaction guaranteed. A portion of your purchase benefits charities and literacy groups!. Seller Inventory # 0WOF8I000VVH

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 60.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Anthony Bourdain
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. Paperback. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2917550861

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 88.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bourdain, Anthony
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2008)
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2008. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. 1582341028. Seller Inventory # FORT317231

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 89.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Anthony Bourdain
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2000)
ISBN 10: 1582341028 ISBN 13: 9781582341026
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2000. Paperback. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG1582341028

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 230.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds