We Need to Talk About Kevin: A Novel

4.07 avg rating
( 112,688 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781582432670: We Need to Talk About Kevin: A Novel

A stunning examination of how tragedy affects a town, a marriage, and a family, for readers of Rosellen Brown's Before and After and Jane Hamilton's A Map of the World . That neither nature nor nurture bears exclusive responsibility for a child's character is self-evident. But such generalizations provide cold comfort when it's your own son who's just opened fire on his fellow students and whose class photograph--with its unseemly grin--is blown up on the national news.The question of who's to blame for teenage atrocity tortures our narrator, Eva Khatchadourian. Two years ago, her son, Kevin, murdered seven of his fellow high-school students, a cafeteria worker, and a popular algebra teacher. Because he was only fifteen at the time of the killings, he received a lenient sentence and is now in a prison for young offenders in upstate New York.Telling the story of Kevin's upbringing, Eva addresses herself to her estranged husband through a series of letters. Fearing that her own shortcomings may have shaped what her son has become, she confesses to a deep, long-standing ambivalence about both motherhood in general and Kevin in particular. How much is her fault? We Need to Talk About K

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Eva never really wanted to be a mother—and certainly not the mother of a boy who ends up murdering seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker, and a much-adored teacher who tried to befriend him, all two days before his sixteenth birthday. Now, two years later, it is time for her to come to terms with marriage, career, family, parenthood, and Kevin’s horrific rampage, in a series of startlingly direct correspondences with her estranged husband, Franklin. Uneasy with the sacrifices and social demotion of motherhood from the start, Eva fears that her alarming dislike for her own son may be responsible for driving him so nihilistically off the rails.

About the Author:

Lionel Shriver is the author of seven novels, and has written extensively for the Wall Street Journal, the Philadelphia Inquirer, and The Economist. She lives in London and New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Shriver, Lionel
Published by Counterpoint
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Counterpoint. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1582432678 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HCI6432.1DHGG050417H0746

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Shriver, Lionel
Published by Counterpoint
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Milads
(fruitland, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Counterpoint. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1582432678. Bookseller Inventory # 002894

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Shriver, Lionel
Published by Counterpoint (2003)
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Letusbegin
(Ossining, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Counterpoint, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New Hardcover! Pristine unmarked pages, no remainder marks, great buy straight from warehouse unread, sealed in plastic, exact artwork as listed, Bookseller Inventory # 095170707111

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lionel Shriver
Published by Counterpoint (2003)
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Counterpoint, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 1582432678

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 37.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lionel Shriver
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(PLANO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP1582432678BN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Shriver, Lionel
Published by Counterpoint (2003)
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Counterpoint, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111582432678

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 43.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lionel Shriver
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97815824326701.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 46.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Shriver, Lionel
Published by Counterpoint
ISBN 10: 1582432678 ISBN 13: 9781582432670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Counterpoint. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1582432678 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0777337

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds