The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

4.33 avg rating
( 157,672 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781594137792: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. (sports & recreation). Simultaneous.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat is the kind of nonfiction book that reads like a novel. Centered around the life of Joe Rantz—a farmboy from the Pacific Northwest who was literally abandoned as a child—and set during the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is a character-driven story with a natural crescendo that will have you racing to the finish. In 1936, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team raced its way to the Berlin Olympics for an opportunity to challenge the greatest in the world. How this team, largely composed of rowers from “foggy coastal villages, damp dairy farms, and smoky lumber towns all over the state,” managed to work together and sacrifice toward their goal of defeating Hitler’s feared racers is half the story. The other half is equally fascinating, as Brown seamlessly weaves in the story of crew itself. This is fast-paced and emotional nonfiction about determination, bonds built by teamwork, and what it takes to achieve glory. —Chris Schluep

About the Author:

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, "Under a Flaming Sky" and "The Indifferent Stars Above." He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford. He lives near Seattle.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Christian Large Print (2014)
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Christian Large Print, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KB-9781594137792

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Christian Large Print (2014)
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Christian Large Print, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781594137792

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Large Print Pr
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Large Print Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159413779X BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|1.55. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9781594137792

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brown, Daniel James
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 5521706

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Large Print Pr (2014)
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Large Print Pr, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 159413779X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Large Print Pr (2014)
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Large Print Pr, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # 159413779X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Large Print Pr
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Large Print Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159413779X. Seller Inventory # Z159413779XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Daniel James Brown
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97815941377920000000

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Daniel James Brown
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 741 pages. 0.821. Seller Inventory # 9781594137792

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Daniel James Brown
Published by Large Print Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 159413779X ISBN 13: 9781594137792
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Large Print Press, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Large type / large print edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. For readers of Laura Hillenbrand s Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler s 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious. Seller Inventory # AAS9781594137792

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book