Bell, Sophie The Ultra Violets

ISBN 13: 9781595146038

The Ultra Violets

4.13 avg rating
( 134 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781595146038: The Ultra Violets
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A smart superhero book for girls with plenty of glitter--perfect for fans of The Powerpuff Girls.

It all started with the mysterious purple goo . . .

What happens when four best friends find themselves splattered with a bubbling, genetically altering substance during a seemingly innocent sleepover in a secret, see-through, high-tech, futuristic lab? They develop superpowers, that's what! Iris, Cheri, Scarlet, and Opaline are destined to become . . .

THE ULTRA VIOLETS

IRIS: Visionary, artist, leader—the glitter glue that holds the group together!

CHERI: A girly girl on platform rollerskates who's never met a rescue puppy or a nail polish she didn’t immediately-and-madly love. 

SCARLET: Short enough that you won’t see her sneaking up behind you. Freckled enough that you might mistake her for innocent. But look out!

OPALINE: Loveable, huggable, supershy, sweet as pie . . . or is she?

THE FUCHSIA IS NOW!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

If Sophie Bell could have just one superpower, it would be to control the frizzies come rain, snow, tornado, or monsoon. Either that or invisible-flying. Like the Ultra Violets, she once had purple hair, and it came at a terrible cost—about fifteen dollars per extension. She lives with many inappropriate shoes in Brooklyn, New York.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 5-7-While on a sleepover at a supersecret lab, four second-grade friends are accidentally splashed with an experimental chemical. At the time, it doesn't seem too important. But, four years later, when the girls reunite in middle school, the "heliotropium" exposure is producing astonishing changes. Iris has developed purple hair and the corresponding ability to affect colors around her. Scarlet has gained phenomenal dancing talents, and Cheri has extraordinary math powers and can communicate with animals. Only Opal seems to have been left out-and she's increasingly bitter about it. The other girls assure her that they are all still "besties," but then Opal mistakenly assumes that Cheri is using superskills to steal the boy whom she wants. Opal breaks with the group just as her own terrifying storm-creating powers manifest. Meanwhile, SyncCity is being invaded by weird human-animal mutants, and the source seems to be experimental beauty lab BeauTek in the shuttered Mall of No Returns. Opal arranges a class field trip to BeauTek, where she assumes control of the mutant forces. Can the remaining Ultra Violets rescue their friend from the dark side in time to save the city? Readers may be attracted to the anime-style illustrations, flashy cover art, and purple-inked text, but the episodic plot is often a challenge to follow, especially as the author frequently breaks page in mid-action to insert side comments. Many plot threads are left unresolved, indicating a planned sequel. The self-consciously "girlie" dialogue is replete with text-message acronyms and cutesy pop-culture references. There is room in the superhero pantheon for an all-girl team, but the Ultra Violets spend more time licking lollipops and humiliating cafeteria bullies than seeking justice.-Elaine E. Knight, Lincoln Elementary Schools, ILα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bell, Sophie
Published by Razorbill (2013)
ISBN 10: 1595146032 ISBN 13: 9781595146038
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Razorbill, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB0140DC2SU

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 29.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Bell, Sophie
Published by Razorbill
ISBN 10: 1595146032 ISBN 13: 9781595146038
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Razorbill. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1595146032 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW33.1214070

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Bell, Sophie
ISBN 10: 1595146032 ISBN 13: 9781595146038
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-1595146032

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds