The Samaritan: A Novel (Carter Blake)

3.95 avg rating
( 1,300 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9781605989532: The Samaritan: A Novel (Carter Blake)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The thrilling sequel to Mason Cross' The Killing Season, a new and energetic crime saga featuring Carter Blake, a protagonist in the tradition of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.

When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered in the Santa Monica Mountains, LAPD Detective Jessica Allen knows she's seen this before―two and a half years ago on the other side of the country.

A sadistic serial killer has been operating undetected for a decade, preying on lone female drivers whose cars have broken down. The press dub the killer 'the Samaritan,' but with no leads―and a killer who leaves no traces―the police investigation quickly grinds to a halt.

That's when Carter Blake shows up to volunteer his services. He's a skilled manhunter with an uncanny ability to predict the Samaritan's next moves. At first, Allen and her colleagues are suspicious. After all, their new ally shares some uncomfortable similarities to the man they're tracking. But as the Samaritan takes his slaughter to the next level, Blake must find a way to stop him . . . even if it means bringing his own past crashing down on top of him.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Mason Cross is the author of The Killing Season and The Samaritan. You can find out more by visiting his website at masoncross.net. He lives in Glasgow, Scotland.

Review:

“Mason Cross has created an enigmatic character in Carter Blake. The writing is taut, intelligent, oozes suspense. A highly impressive debut novel.”
- Matt Hilton, author of the bestselling Joe Hunter thrillers

“Fans of Jeffery Deaver―that other thrill-master who can't resist piling on the climactic twists even as the lights are coming up and you're looking for your umbrella―should be enthralled.”
- Kirkus Reviews

“British author Cross makes a spectacular U.S. debut with this harrowing thriller. The gripping, intense pace and the intriguing characters will keep readers on the edge of their seats. Hope for a sequel!”
- Library Journal (starred review)

“My kind of book.”
- Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Even jaded genre readers will be absorbed by Cross’s second thriller featuring manhunter Carter Blake. Cross makes the most of alternating perspectives, building up to a logical but surprising climax.”
- Publishers Weekly

“Cross’s skills at plot, locale, and character are impressive. Additionally Blake is as intriguing as he is competent, with a few skeletons in his closet to add to his credibility.”
- Bookgasm

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781409146179: Samaritan

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1409146170 ISBN 13:  9781409146179
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co, 2001
Softcover

9781681773131: The Samaritan: A Novel (Carter Blake Thrillers)

Pegasu..., 2017
Softcover

9781409146155: The Samaritan: Carter Blake Book 2 (Carter Blake Series)

Orion ...
Hardcover

9781409146162: The Samaritan: Carter Blake Book 2 (Carter Blake Series)

Orion, 2015
Softcover

9781409159520: The Samaritan

Orion, 2015
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Cross, Mason
Published by Pegasus Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1605989533 ISBN 13: 9781605989532
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Pegasus Books, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1605989533

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Cross, Mason
ISBN 10: 1605989533 ISBN 13: 9781605989532
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ABC
(Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. New. Seller Inventory # DH29pg1to676to1061-39720

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 47.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Cross, Mason
ISBN 10: 1605989533 ISBN 13: 9781605989532
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ABC
(Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. New. Seller Inventory # DH29HCpg2206toend-31485

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 47.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Cross, Mason
Published by Pegasus Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1605989533 ISBN 13: 9781605989532
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Pegasus Books, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB1605989533

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds