Items related to Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise...

Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy

3.59 avg rating
( 1,766 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781621575764: Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE MONTH

FROM THE WALL STREET JOURNAL: "Nothing Mr. Gilder says or writes is ever delivered at anything less than the fullest philosophical decibel..Mr. Gilder sounds less like a tech guru than a poet, and his words tumble out in a romantic cascade."

“Google’s algorithms assume the world’s future is nothing more than the next moment in a random process. George Gilder shows how deep this assumption goes, what motivates people to make it, and why it’s wrong: the future depends on human action.” — Peter Thiel, founder of PayPal and Palantir Technologies and author of Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future

The Age of Google, built on big data and machine intelligence, has been an awesome era. But it’s coming to an end. In Life after Google, George Gilder—the peerless visionary of technology and culture—explains why Silicon Valley is suffering a nervous breakdown and what to expect as the post-Google age dawns.

Google’s astonishing ability to “search and sort” attracts the entire world to its search engine and countless other goodies—videos, maps, email, calendars....And everything it offers is free, or so it seems. Instead of paying directly, users submit to advertising. The system of “aggregate and advertise” works—for a while—if you control an empire of data centers, but a market without prices strangles entrepreneurship and turns the Internet into a wasteland of ads.

The crisis is not just economic. Even as advances in artificial intelligence induce delusions of omnipotence and transcendence, Silicon Valley has pretty much given up on security. The Internet firewalls supposedly protecting all those passwords and personal information have proved hopelessly permeable.

The crisis cannot be solved within the current computer and network architecture. The future lies with the “cryptocosm”—the new architecture of the blockchain and its derivatives. Enabling cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin and ether, NEO and Hashgraph, it will provide the Internet a secure global payments system, ending the aggregate-and-advertise Age of Google.

Silicon Valley, long dominated by a few giants, faces a “great unbundling,” which will disperse computer power and commerce and transform the economy and the Internet.

Life after Google is almost here.

 

For fans of "Wealth and Poverty," "Knowledge and Power," and "The Scandal of Money." 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

GEORGE GILDER, one of the leading economic and technological thinkers of the past forty years, is the author of nineteen books, including Wealth and Poverty, Life after Television, Knowledge and Power, and The Scandal of Money. A founding fellow of the Discovery Institute, where he began his study of information theory, and an influential venture investor, he lives with his wife in western Massachusetts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781684512935: Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 168451293X ISBN 13: 9781684512935
Publisher: Regnery Gateway, 2022
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Gilder, George
Published by Regnery Gateway (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: 8
Seller:
Book Outpost
(Blawnox, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 51WMQJ0005P1_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
International Edition
International Edition

Gilder, George
Published by Regnery Gateway (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
International Edition
Seller:
Bookstore99
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: NEW. International Edition, Paperback, Brand New, Same author , ISBN and Cover image may differ. Legal to use despite any disclaimer, We ship to PO , APO and FPO adresses in U.S.A .Choose Expedited Shipping for FASTER DELIVERY.Customer Satisfaction Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # US_9789388423687

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Gilder, George
Published by Regnery Gateway (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1621575764-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Gilder, George
Published by Gateway Editions (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN1621575764

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Gilder, George
Published by Gateway Editions (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781621575764

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Gilder, George
Published by Gateway Editions (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 29167432-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

George Gilder
Published by Simon and Schuster (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1621575764

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

George Gilder
Published by Gateway Editions 2018-08-02 (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-HCL-9781621575764

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.66
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

George Gilder
Published by Regnery Publishing Inc, Washington DC (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Hardcover. You can say goodbye to today's Internet, New York Times bestselling author George Gilder says. Soon the current model of aggregated free content populated with "value-subtracted" advertising will die a natural death, due, of course, to the simple fact that absolutely no one wants to see online advertising. What will tomorrow's Internet look like? In Life After Google, Gilder takes readers on a brilliant, rocketing journey into the very near-future, into an Internet with a new "bitcoin-bitgold" transaction layer that will replace spam with seamless micro-payments and provide an all-new standard for global money. Word "Google" on title page and spine printed upside down and backwards. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781621575764

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

George Gilder
Published by Regnery Publishing Inc, United States (2018)
ISBN 10: 1621575764 ISBN 13: 9781621575764
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE MONTH FROM THE WALL STREET JOURNAL: "Nothing Mr. Gilder says or writes is ever delivered at anything less than the fullest philosophical decibel. Mr. Gilder sounds less like a tech guru than a poet, and his words tumble out in a romantic cascade." "Google's algorithms assume the world's future is nothing more than the next moment in a random process. George Gilder shows how deep this assumption goes, what motivates people to make it, and why it's wrong: the future depends on human action." -- Peter Thiel, founder of PayPal and Palantir Technologies and author of Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future The Age of Google, built on big data and machine intelligence, has been an awesome era. But it's coming to an end. In Life after Google, George Gilder--the peerless visionary of technology and culture--explains why Silicon Valley is suffering a nervous breakdown and what to expect as the post-Google age dawns. Google's astonishing ability to "search and sort" attracts the entire world to its search engine and countless other goodies--videos, maps, email, calendars.And everything it offers is free, or so it seems. Instead of paying directly, users submit to advertising. The system of "aggregate and advertise" works--for a while--if you control an empire of data centers, but a market without prices strangles entrepreneurship and turns the Internet into a wasteland of ads. The crisis is not just economic. Even as advances in artificial intelligence induce delusions of omnipotence and transcendence, Silicon Valley has pretty much given up on security. The Internet firewalls supposedly protecting all those passwords and personal information have proved hopelessly permeable. The crisis cannot be solved within the current computer and network architecture. The future lies with the "cryptocosm"--the new architecture of the blockchain and its derivatives. Enabling cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin and ether, NEO and Hashgraph, it will provide the Internet a secure global payments system, ending the aggregate-and-advertise Age of Google. Silicon Valley, long dominated by a few giants, faces a "great unbundling," which will disperse computer power and commerce and transform the economy and the Internet. Life after Google is almost here. For fans of "Wealth and Poverty," "Knowledge and Power," and "The Scandal of Money.". Seller Inventory # ABZ9781621575764

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book