Joshua Winning Ruins

ISBN 13: 9781909717282

Ruins

4.14 avg rating
( 36 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781909717282: Ruins
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The second instalment of the critically-acclaimed Sentinel Trilogy. In his desperate search for answers about the Sentinels, an ancient society of guardians that his parents once belonged to, fifteen-year-old Nicholas Hallow is tipped into a fresh nightmare of terrifying monsters - and even more sinister humans. As Nicholas is challenged to become a Sentinel, he must track down a mysterious girl with the help of a grumpy cat. Meanwhile, an uprising of evil threatens to destroy the Sentinels and send the world spiralling into chaos.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Joshua Winning was born in Cambridge, but don't hold that against him. He's attempted to escape reality for most of his life by writing. As a child, that involved poring diligently over anything by C.S. Lewis or Robin Jarvis. When he's not writing about Sentinels, Joshua can usually be found watching Buffy The Vampire Slayer, The Wire and Daria. He also works as a freelance journalist, writing about movies for Total Film, Little White Lies and movieScope. Joshua currently lives in North London with his cat Mia. Unfortunately, she's not a great conversationalist, but he's working on it.

Review:

"Fast paced, surprising, and madly compelling."; Rosie Fletcher, Total Film; "A great, imaginative, gripping read..."; Nev Pierce, Editor-at-Large, Empire; "Joshua Winning could well be on to a winner with this unsettling but entertaining icebreaker; hopefully Nicholas and this trilogy will mature nicely together."; Claire Nicholls, SciFiNow Magazine; "Don't think you've read this before in the Harry Potter books, Sentinel sets a darker, grittier tone. The action is fast and violent, the monsters, including a seductive vampiress, are memorable."; John Wyatt, The Sun; "Written poetically, with carefully-drawn characters, this is an extremely promising YA debut by a young author."; Kate Whiting, Press Association; "Winning's eminently readable style, coupled with some strong characters and a pace that nicely rounds out the book make this a cut above the vast majority of the young-adult fiction market that tries the same approach."; Daniel Benson, HorrorTalk; "One for fans of Terry Pratchett, Edgar Allan Poe and Tolkien. Joshua Winning's Sentinel has everything fantasy readers could want: action, mystery, gore, magic and an orphan with wacky relatives."; Lizzy Fry, Culture Fly; "Adventure, twists, demons and mystery abound in this spellbinding tale of a hidden earthly underworld."; David Estes, author of The Moon Dwellers; "Sentinel first hooks you with a cadre of compelling and appealing characters, then before you know it, you're trapped in a nightmare of intangible forces that become more and more threatening, more and more clever, more and more inescapable. You definitely reach a point where you can't put the book down."; D.A. Metrov, author of Falcon Lord; "A well-crafted, sharply honed novel that creeps into your subconscious, settling deep before springing a few surprises upon the unsuspecting reader. You won't want to put it down, and you probably don't want to read it on your own in an empty house!"; Sarah McMullan, The 13th Floor

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

List Price: US$ 10.99
US$ 9.85

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Joshua Winning
Published by John Catt Educational Ltd, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description John Catt Educational Ltd, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Second instalment of the critically-acclaimed Sentinel Trilogy. In his desperate search for answers about the Sentinels, an ancient society of guardians that his parents once belonged to, fifteen-year-old Nicholas Hallow is tipped into a fresh nightmare of terrifying monsters - and even more sinister humans. As Nicholas is challenged to become a Sentinel, he must track down a mysterious girl with the help of a grumpy cat. Meanwhile, an uprising of evil threatens to destroy the Sentinels and send the world spiralling into chaos. Seller Inventory # AA79781909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Joshua Winning
Published by John Catt Educational Ltd, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description John Catt Educational Ltd, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Second instalment of the critically-acclaimed Sentinel Trilogy. In his desperate search for answers about the Sentinels, an ancient society of guardians that his parents once belonged to, fifteen-year-old Nicholas Hallow is tipped into a fresh nightmare of terrifying monsters - and even more sinister humans. As Nicholas is challenged to become a Sentinel, he must track down a mysterious girl with the help of a grumpy cat. Meanwhile, an uprising of evil threatens to destroy the Sentinels and send the world spiralling into chaos. Seller Inventory # AA79781909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Joshua, Winning
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FV-9781909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Joshua Winning
Published by John Catt Educational Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description John Catt Educational Ltd, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001509041

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.07
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.74
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Winning, Joshua
Published by John Catt Educational Ltd
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description John Catt Educational Ltd. Condition: New. Second instalment of the critically-acclaimed Sentinel Trilogy. In his desperate search for answers about the Sentinels, an ancient society of guardians that his parents once belonged to, fifteen-year-old Nicholas Hallow is tipped into a fresh nightmare of terrifying monsters - and even more sinister humans. Series: Sentinel Trilogy. Num Pages: 264 pages, black & white illustrations. BIC Classification: YFH. Category: (Y) Teenage / Young Adult. Dimension: 200 x 132 x 20. Weight in Grams: 396. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Winning, Joshua
Published by John Catt Educational Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5

Book Description John Catt Educational Ltd, 2015. Condition: New. Second instalment of the critically-acclaimed Sentinel Trilogy. In his desperate search for answers about the Sentinels, an ancient society of guardians that his parents once belonged to, fifteen-year-old Nicholas Hallow is tipped into a fresh nightmare of terrifying monsters - and even more sinister humans. Series: Sentinel Trilogy. Num Pages: 264 pages, black & white illustrations. BIC Classification: YFH. Category: (Y) Teenage / Young Adult. Dimension: 200 x 132 x 20. Weight in Grams: 396. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Joshua Winning
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1909717282. Seller Inventory # ST1909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Joshua Winning
Published by John Catt Educational Ltd
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description John Catt Educational Ltd. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.67
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Joshua Winning (author)
Published by Peridot 2015-05-15, Woodbridge (2015)
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Peridot 2015-05-15, Woodbridge, 2015. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Joshua Winning
Published by John Catt Educational Ltd
ISBN 10: 1909717282 ISBN 13: 9781909717282
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description John Catt Educational Ltd. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1909717282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.37
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book