9780670023646

The Orphanmaster

Jean Zimmerman

ISBN 10: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Publisher: Viking Adult
Publication Date: 2012-06-19
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:

From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century ManhattanIt’s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted twenty-two-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.Suspects abound, including the governor’s wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony’s own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine’s newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, The Orphanmaster is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks.


 
Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:

The Orphanmaster: Search Results

1.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
Bookseller: Ramp Bookstore (Mesa, AZ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0670023647 Brand new condition. Ships fast. Ships international. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # Z0670023647ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 5.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
2.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Jean Zimmerman
Bookseller: Sequitur Books (Boonsboro, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Gift quality, Fine. 8vo. A superior copy without defect. Clean, unmarked pages. Fine binding and cover. Hardcover and dust jacket. Ships daily. Bookseller Inventory # 1207270042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.13
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
3.
The Orphan Master (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Jean Zimmerman
Bookseller: Strand Book Store, ABAA (New York, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 2115059

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.95
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
4.
The Orphan Master (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Jean Zimmerman
Bookseller: Strand Book Store, ABAA (New York, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 2112702

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.95
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
5.
The Orphanmaster (Hardback) (ISBN: 9780670023646)
Jean Zimmerman
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Books, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 231 x 152 mm. Brand New Book. From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century ManhattanIt s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted twenty-two-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.Suspects abound, including the governor s wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony s own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine s newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, The Orphanmaster is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks. Bookseller Inventory # LVN9780670023646

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 22.12
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
6.
The Orphanmaster (Signed First Edition) (ISBN: 9780670023646)
Jean Zimmerman
Bookseller: Dan Pope Books (West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Viking, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. NEW YORK: Viking, 2012. First edition. First printing. Hardbound. New/New. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. A pristine unread copy. With mylar dust jacket protector. Shipped in well padded box. Signed only, no inscriptions. Smoke-free, defect free. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 06-2012-35

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 45.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
7.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110670023647

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 55.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
8.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Jean Zimmerman
Bookseller: Revaluation Books (Exeter, DEV, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Books, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. first edition edition. 432 pages. 9.25x6.50x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0670023647

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 49.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 10.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book