Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780670023646

The Orphanmaster

Zimmerman, Jean Author

Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
Image Not Available

From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century Manhattan

It’s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted twenty-two-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.

Suspects abound, including the governor’s wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony’s own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine’s newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.

Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, The Orphanmaster is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jean Zimmerman was born in Tarrytown, New York. An honors graduate of Barnard College, she is the author of several works of nonfiction, including Love, Fiercely: A Gilded Age Romance and The Women of the House: How a Colonial She-Merchant Built a Mansion, a Fortune, and a Dynasty. She lives in Ossining, New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 1.00

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Orion Tech
(Oak Ridge, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0670023647 . Bookseller Inventory # GHT6419JMPA021115H0440P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0670023647 SHIPS WITHIN 24 HOURS!! (SAME BUSINESS DAY) GREAT BOOK!!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0670023647ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking Adult (2012)
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Praise for The Orphanmaster : " The Orphanmaster is a sweeping novel of great and precise imaginative intelligence; it's also the most entertaining and believable historical novel I've read in years. Jean Zimmerman is a debut novelist who already writes like an old master. Read any page of The Orphanmaster and you'll become an instant fan." - Darin Strauss, author of Half a Life and Chang and Eng "Jean Zimmerman's seventeenth-century New Amsterdam teems with enough intrigue, lust, and madness to give our twenty-first-century Big Apple a run for its money. And money is what drives this book - liberating, corrupting, forming the only bulwark against a terrifying, chaotic New World. Zimmerman's wit and humanity shine light in a dark woods, creating an uncommonly rich debut." - Sheri Holman, author of The Dress Lodger "Here's American history turned inside out, animated by Jean Zimmerman's prodigious imagination.Monsters lurk in the shadows, chaos presses in, legends come alive, and one adventure leads with irresistible force to the next. The Orphanmaster is a breathtaking achievement." - Joanna Scott, author of Arrogance and Various Antidotes "[A] compulsively readable, heartbreaking, and grisly mystery set in a wild colonial America." - ALA Booklist "A feisty young Dutch woman, an English spy, and a local demon all cross paths in 1663 New Amsterdam, in this Ludlumesque historical thriller.a successful mix of historical fiction, spy thriller, and horror." - Library Journal "As in the best historical fiction, [Zimmerman] has created a kind of truce between the authority of the past and the accessibility of the present, revealing to us what it once meant to be alive, and what that history means to us now . on nearly every page there is some unobtrusively offered word or description, of food, of architecture, of dress, that brings the period and its people into clearer focus." - USAToday "Absorbing period fiction with the requisite colorful characters of the era." - The New YorkDaily News. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0670023647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking Adult (2012)
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sequitur Books
(Boonsboro, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover and dust jacket. Good binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages. Ships daily. Bookseller Inventory # 1207270042

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97806700236461.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking (2012)
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mysteries And More
(North Hollywood, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking, 2012. Fine Book Clean Tight Pages. Book Condition: New Book. Never Read. 1st Edition; 1st Printing. In protective Bro-Dart cover with review slip laid in. In 1663 in the hardscrabble colony of New Amsterdam-today's lower Manhattan-orphan children are going missing and residents suspect a serial killer. Bookseller Inventory # 000011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110670023647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking (2012)
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. NEW YORK: Viking, 2012. First edition. First printing. Hardbound. New/New. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. A pristine unread copy. With mylar dust jacket protector. Shipped in well padded box. Signed only, no inscriptions. Smoke-free, defect free. 0.0. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 06-2012-35

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Zimmerman, Jean Author
Published by Viking Adult (2012)
ISBN 10: 0670023647 ISBN 13: 9780670023646
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. first edition edition. 432 pages. 9.25x6.50x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 0670023647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 61.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.28
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds