9780670023646

The Orphanmaster

Zimmerman, Jean

ISBN 10: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Publisher: Viking Adult
Publication Date: 2012
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:

From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century Manhattan

It’s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted twenty-two-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.

Suspects abound, including the governor’s wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony’s own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine’s newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.

Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, The Orphanmaster is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks.


Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

The Orphanmaster: Search Results

1.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: GIANTBOOKSALE (BAYSHORE, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0670023647 SHIPS WITHIN 24 HOURS!! (SAME BUSINESS DAY) GREAT BOOK!!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0670023647ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.94
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
2.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: Sequitur Books (Boonsboro, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover and dust jacket. Good binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages. Ships daily. Bookseller Inventory # 1207270042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 3.65
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
3.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: Sandiact (Las Cruces, NM, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0670023647 Brand New Condition. Ships the Next Day. No Sales Tax. Bookseller Inventory # Z0670023647ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 6.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
4.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 9780670023646)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Amherst, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97806700236461.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.51
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
5.
The Orphan Master (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: Strand Book Store, ABAA (New York, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 5

Book Description: Viking Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 2115059

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.95
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
6.
The Orphanmaster (Signed First Edition) (ISBN: 9780670023646)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: Dan Pope Books (West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Viking, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. NEW YORK: Viking, 2012. First edition. First printing. Hardbound. New/New. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. A pristine unread copy. With mylar dust jacket protector. Shipped in well padded box. Signed only, no inscriptions. Smoke-free, defect free. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 06-2012-35

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 45.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
7.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110670023647

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 51.44
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
8.
The Orphanmaster (ISBN: 0670023647 / 0-670-02364-7)
Zimmerman, Jean
ISBN 10: 0670023647
ISBN 13: 9780670023646
Bookseller: Revaluation Books (Exeter, DEV, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Books, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. first edition edition. 432 pages. 9.25x6.50x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0670023647

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 47.01
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 9.74
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book