9780099435921

Skeletons on the Zahara : A True Story of Survival

King, Dean

ISBN 10: 0099435926 / 0-09-943592-6
ISBN 13: 9780099435921

Publication Date: 2005

Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:

The western Sahara is a baking hot and desolate place, home only to nomads and their camels, and to locusts, snails and thorny scrub - and it has a barren and ever-changing coastline that has baffled sailors for centuries. This is a gripping story of survival in the 19th century Sahara.


 

Skeletons on the Zahara : A True Story of Survival: Search Results

1.
Skeletons on the Zahara (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780099435921)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Gloucester, UK, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 130 mm. Brand New Book. The western Sahara is a baking hot and desolate place, home only to nomads and their camels, and to locusts, snails and thorny scrub. On 28 August 1815 the US brig Commerce was dashed against Mauritania s Cape Bojador and lost, although through bravery and quick thinking the ship s captain, James Riley, managed to lead all of his crew to safety. What followed was an extraordinary and desperate battle for survival in the face of human hostility, hunger, dehydration and despair, as the crew were captured, robbed and enslaved. They were reduced to drinking urine (their own and the camels ), flayed by the sun, crippled by walking miles across burning stones and sand. Over time James Riley and Sidi Hamet, slave and captor, came to recognise in each other men worthy of respect.Soon the ransom not only of Riley himself but also of a handful of his crew suddenly seemed possible. But Sidi Hamet had enemies of his own, and to reach safety the sailors had to overcome not only the desert but also the greed and anger of those who would keep them in captivity. Skeletons on the Zahara is a thrilling true story of shipwreck, adventure, and the limits of man. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099435921

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.94
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
2.
Skeletons on the Zahara (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780099435921)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 130 mm. Brand New Book. The western Sahara is a baking hot and desolate place, home only to nomads and their camels, and to locusts, snails and thorny scrub. On 28 August 1815 the US brig Commerce was dashed against Mauritania s Cape Bojador and lost, although through bravery and quick thinking the ship s captain, James Riley, managed to lead all of his crew to safety. What followed was an extraordinary and desperate battle for survival in the face of human hostility, hunger, dehydration and despair, as the crew were captured, robbed and enslaved. They were reduced to drinking urine (their own and the camels ), flayed by the sun, crippled by walking miles across burning stones and sand. Over time James Riley and Sidi Hamet, slave and captor, came to recognise in each other men worthy of respect.Soon the ransom not only of Riley himself but also of a handful of his crew suddenly seemed possible. But Sidi Hamet had enemies of his own, and to reach safety the sailors had to overcome not only the desert but also the greed and anger of those who would keep them in captivity. Skeletons on the Zahara is a thrilling true story of shipwreck, adventure, and the limits of man. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099435921

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.17
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
3.
Skeletons On The Zahara (ISBN: 0099435926 / 0-09-943592-6)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: GreatBookPrices (Westminster, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 5

Book Description: Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 3343856-n

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.54
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
4.
Skeletons on the Zahara (Paperback) (ISBN: 0099435926 / 0-09-943592-6)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: Bobs Books (JRM) (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 198mm x 24mm. Paperback. In the tradition of In the Heart of the Sea and A Perfect Storm, a gripping story of survival in the 19th century Sahara. The western Sahara is a baking hot and desolate place, home only t.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.261. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099435921

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.95
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
5.
Skeletons on the Zahara (ISBN: 9780099435921)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: Deastore (Roma, ROMA, Italy)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Arrow Books Ltd, London, 2005. Book Condition: New. Language: english. The western Sahara is a baking hot and desolate place. On 28 August 1815, the US brig Commerce was dashed against Mauritania's Cape Bojador and lost, although through bravery and quick thinking the ship's captain, James Riley, managed to lead all of his crew to safety. What followed was an extraordinary and desperate battle for survival. Bookseller Inventory # 1120688

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.94
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From Italy to U.S.A.
6.
Skeletons on the Zahara (ISBN: 9780099435921)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: Kennys Bookshop and Art Galleries Ltd. (Galway, n/a, Ireland)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 5

Book Description: Cornerstone. Book Condition: New. 2005. Paperback. . . . . . Over 350,000 customers served online!. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099435921

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.11
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From Ireland to U.S.A.
7.
Skeletons on the Zahara (ISBN: 9780099435921)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: Kennys Bookstore (Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 5

Book Description: Cornerstone. Book Condition: New. 2005. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099435921

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.85
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
8.
Skeletons on the Zahara : A True Story of Survival (ISBN: 9780099435921)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: English-Book-Service - A Fine Choice (Waldshut-Tiengen, BW, Germany)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: 2005. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GA9780099435921

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.26
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.82
From Germany to U.S.A.
9.
Skeletons On The Zahara (ISBN: 9780099435921)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: Books2Anywhere (Fairford, GLO, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Random House, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Bookseller Inventory # FR-9780099435921

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.19
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 15.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
10.
Skeletons on the Zahara (ISBN: 0099435926 / 0-09-943592-6)
King, Dean
ISBN 10: 0099435926
ISBN 13: 9780099435921
Bookseller: Revaluation Books (Exeter, DEV, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Arrow, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 368 pages. 7.80x5.12x0.94 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0099435926

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.97
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 10.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book