Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780312424404

Gilead: A Novel

Robinson, Marilynne Author

9780312424404: Gilead: A Novel

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.


Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In 1981, Marilynne Robinson wrote Housekeeping, which won the PEN/Hemingway Award and became a modern classic. Since then, she has written two pieces of nonfiction: Mother Country and The Death of Adam. With Gilead, we have, at last, another work of fiction. As with The Great Fire, Shirley Hazzards's return, 22 years after The Transit of Venus, it was worth the long wait. Books such as these take time, and thought, and a certain kind of genius. There are no invidious comparisons to be made. Robinson's books are unalike in every way but one: the same incisive thought and careful prose illuminate both.

The narrator, John Ames, is 76, a preacher who has lived almost all of his life in Gilead, Iowa. He is writing a letter to his almost seven-year-old son, the blessing of his second marriage. It is a summing-up, an apologia, a consideration of his life. Robinson takes the story away from being simply the reminiscences of one man and moves it into the realm of a meditation on fathers and children, particularly sons, on faith, and on the imperfectability of man.

The reason for the letter is Ames's failing health. He wants to leave an account of himself for this son who will never really know him. His greatest regret is that he hasn't much to leave them, in worldly terms. "Your mother told you I'm writing your begats, and you seemed very pleased with the idea. Well, then. What should I record for you?" In the course of the narrative, John Ames records himself, inside and out, in a meditative style. Robinson's prose asks the reader to slow down to the pace of an old man in Gilead, Iowa, in 1956. Ames writes of his father and grandfather, estranged over his grandfather's departure for Kansas to march for abolition and his father's lifelong pacifism. The tension between them, their love for each other and their inability to bridge the chasm of their beliefs is a constant source of rumination for John Ames. Fathers and sons.

The other constant in the book is Ames's friendship since childhood with "old Boughton," a Presbyterian minister. Boughton, father of many children, favors his son, named John Ames Boughton, above all others. Ames must constantly monitor his tendency to be envious of Boughton's bounteous family; his first wife died in childbirth and the baby died almost immediately after her. Jack Boughton is a ne'er-do-well, Ames knows it and strives to love him as he knows he should. Jack arrives in Gilead after a long absence, full of charm and mischief, causing Ames to wonder what influence he might have on Ames's young wife and son when Ames dies.

These are the things that Ames tells his son about: his ancestors, the nature of love and friendship, the part that faith and prayer play in every life and an awareness of one's own culpability. There is also reconciliation without resignation, self-awareness without deprecation, abundant good humor, philosophical queries--Jack asks, "'Do you ever wonder why American Christianity seems to wait for the real thinking to be done elsewhere?'"--and an ongoing sense of childlike wonder at the beauty and variety of God's world.

In Marilynne Robinson's hands, there is a balm in Gilead, as the old spiritual tells us. --Valerie Ryan

About the Author:

Marilynne Robinson is the author of the modern classic Housekeeping--winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award--and two books of nonfiction, Mother Country (FSG, 1989) and The Death of Adam. She teaches at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 3.66

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Make_An_Offer_Books&Things
(GARNER, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X E 2015-05-22 18:48:16 PDT 052215, In Stock, Fast Shipping, Smoke Free Business, Click on our name "Make_An_Offer_Books&Things" and look at the 10's of thousands more books from our shelves, Satisfaction Guaranteed ! ! 30 Day Money Back Return Policy. We combine shipping orders, you pay shipping at checkout, we will refund extra charges. SAVE ! !. Bookseller Inventory # 54-N1JI-TYPN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Orion Tech
(Oak Ridge, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X . Bookseller Inventory # GAT6606JMVW052115H0110P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Nerd
(port chester, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1003272

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
Published by Picador (2006)
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_031242440X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
Published by Picador USA (2006)
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador USA, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9780312424404

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Books Market
(Hayward, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X Brand New in Mint condition. Guaranteed delivery in 2-4 days when you order with Expedited Shipping! No Expedited shipping to PO Boxes. Bookseller Inventory # 031242440X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 126361

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97803124244041.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 031242440XBNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Robinson, Marilynne Author
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 031242440X ISBN 13: 9780312424404
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 031242440X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book