9780312424404

Gilead

ISBN 10: 031242440X / 0-312-42440-X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Publisher: Picador USA
Publication Date: 2006
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:
As the Reverend John Ames approaches the hour of his own death, he writes a letter to his son chronicling three previous generations of his family, a story that stretches back to the Civil War and reveals uncomfortable secrets about the family of preachers. Reader's Guide available. Reprint.

Review:
"Robinson has composed...a novel as big as a nation, as quiet as thought, and moving as prayer. Matchless and towering."

Kirkus, 08/15/2004

Review:
"The narrative roams and circles, as diaries do, and is largely cerebral, with little forward imperative. In this sort of book all depends on the quality of the contemplation and the charm of the voice. Fortunately, Ames's is original and strong....GILEAD is an almost otherworldly book. Its characters are, to a one, good people trying to do right. Obviously a work of enormous integrity...."

Mona Simpson, Atlantic Monthly, December 2004

 

Gilead: Search Results

1.
Gilead: A Novel (ISBN: 031242440X / 0-312-42440-X)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: Bookhouse COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 20

Book Description: Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X. Bookseller Inventory # Z031242440XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
2.
Gilead: A Novel (ISBN: 031242440X / 0-312-42440-X)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X. Bookseller Inventory # Z031242440XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
3.
Gilead: A Novel (ISBN: 031242440X / 0-312-42440-X)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: Qwestbooks COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 2-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X. Bookseller Inventory # Z031242440XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
4.
Gilead: A Novel (ISBN: 031242440X / 0-312-42440-X)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: Booklot COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242440X. Bookseller Inventory # Z031242440XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
5.
Gilead (ISBN: 9780312424404)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Picador USA, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9780312424404

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.27
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
6.
Gilead: A Novel (ISBN: 031242440X / 0-312-42440-X)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Picador. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1st Picador. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX031242440X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.11
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
7.
Gilead (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780312424404)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Picador USA, United States, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1st Picador ed. 210 x 143 mm. Brand New Book. Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America s heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order ( Slate ). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780312424404

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.60
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
8.
Gilead: A Novel [Paperback] (ISBN: 031242440X / 0-312-42440-X)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: FOURSEASONS4JOY, LLC (CHICAGO, IL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 031242440XBNA

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.76
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
9.
Gilead: A Novel (ISBN: 9780312424404)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: BargainBookStores (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 824642

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.30
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
10.
Gilead (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780312424404)
Robinson, Marilynne
ISBN 10: 031242440X
ISBN 13: 9780312424404
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Gloucester, UK, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Picador USA, United States, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1st Picador ed. 210 x 143 mm. Brand New Book. Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America s heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order ( Slate ). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780312424404

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.79
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book