9780312551230

Short Squeeze: A Mystery

Knopf, Chris

ISBN 10: 0312551231 / 0-312-55123-1
ISBN 13: 9780312551230
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: 2010
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
The outside world thinks living in the Hamptons requires a Bentley, a face-lift, and a shingle-style home the size of Buckingham Palace. The truth is a lot more complicated than that. Dig a little deeper and you're as likely to find a saint--or a Mensa genius--as you are a deviant or certified nut job lurking right below the surface.   I know this because these are my beloved clients.   Meet Jackie Swaitkowski, a smart-aleck attorney whose legal turf is supposed to be the buzzing Hamptons real-estate market. But when a new client turns up dead, things take a sudden and decidedly dangerous turn. In a client's pocket is an envelope that contains a shocking piece of evidence that suggests that the death was anything but an accident.   Jackie has bigger fish to fry--like her old flame Harry's surprise return to town--until a late-night car chase changes her priorities. Now she has every reason to believe that the next name on the killer's list is her own.   Chris Knopf has been praised for his quick-witted writing and broad knowledge of the highs and lows of Hamptons life, and his books have been included on best-of-the-year lists complied by The New York Times, Publishers Weekly, and others. Now, in Short Squeeze, he brings an irresistible new heroine to center stage.

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Short Squeeze: A Mystery: Search Results

1.

Knopf, Chris
ISBN 10: 0312551231
ISBN 13: 9780312551230
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Minotaur Books, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "Knopf has a touch I like--cool, careful, reflective--and a great ear for the comic eccentricities of the human voice." --Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review "Though Connecticut abounds with mystery novelists, one of its better-kept secrets in the genre is Chris Knopf of Avon. . . . His latest novel,Short Squeeze, both improves and expands on his winning formula. . . . Knopf pulls off another difficult feat in this novel. He truly and fully inhabits the being of a female narrator. She's disheveled, disorganized but highly effective at what she does. . . . A misstep here and a sour note there, and the illusion of a living, breathing female lead collapses. But Knopf walks the literary tightrope well."--The Sunday Republican"Manic Jackie may have a law degree and a place in the Hamptons, but she's still worthy kin to her more downscale Trenton sister Stephanie Plum."--Kirkus Reviews "This spin-off features the same vividly evoked Hamptons setting and the same crisp prose, brisk plotting, and sharp dialogue as Knopf's critically acclaimed Sam Acquillo series, but here center stage switches from ex-boxer and construction worker Acquillo to a resolute first-person female protagonist who was widowed in her 20s but likes living alone just fine. More engaging hard-boiled crime fiction from a rising star." --BooklistPRAISE FORHEAD WOUNDS"Fans of Spencer and Travis McGee will love the off-speed dialogue."--Kirkus Reviews"What makes the novel feel fresh is whip-smart, snappy dialogue and intriguing characters, particularly smart women who handily skirt cliche."--The Boston Globe"It's such a pleasure to visit this seaside refuge the tourists never see."--Marilyn Stasio,The New York Times Book ReviewPRAISE FORTWO TIME"A sly depiction of the East End of Long Island and the Hamptons as they really are, combined with strong plotting, solid characters, and hard-boiled dialogue worthy of Elmore Leonard or John D. MacDonald."--Publishers Weekly(starred review)"Knopf writes with the grace of an angel and the intensity of a demon, and his stories are perfectly plotted. Though he owes a debt to the Raymond Chandler and Co., he's his own man. His books are part of a distinguished heritage, but this is noir for now."--Richmond Times-Dispatch"Everything about it (characters, plotting, setting) is brilliant."--Library Journal. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0312551231

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 19.41
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
2.

Knopf, Chris
ISBN 10: 0312551231
ISBN 13: 9780312551230
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Minotaur Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0312551231

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.44
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.

Knopf, Chris
ISBN 10: 0312551231
ISBN 13: 9780312551230
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Minotaur Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110312551231

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 56.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book