Stock Image

Gypsies Don't Lie

Jan Merlin

2 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1401060005 / ISBN 13: 9781401060008
Published by Xlibris Corp, 2002
Used Condition: Fair Hardcover
From David's Books (Ann arbor, MI, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 13, 2011

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 25.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Gift inscription in front, remainder mark top edge, no othe marks. Bookseller Inventory # 1000109685

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Gypsies Don't Lie

Publisher: Xlibris Corp

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fair

Dust Jacket Condition: No Dust Jacket

About this title

Synopsis:

GYPSIES DON?T LIE transports the reader to the Great Depression world of a heroic immigrant Polish mother trying to raise her two children among New York City tenements, where people with hopeful dreams are preyed upon by very real nightmares. In the tradition of Crane, Norris, and Dreiser, author Jan Merlin gives us an utterly Darwinian view of survival. The novel clearly and sensitively presents real people and their contributions to America and the national identity. This book serves as another Rosetta Stone to American immigrant experience. Not since “Call It Sleep” and “Angela’s Ashes” has one work so encompassed the joy and despair of family life.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We are no longer the open shop near the Michigan campus, but are selling online & by appointment from a smaller site on State St. David's Books, as always, is interested in acquiring quality used books, from small collections to large literary estates.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it¿s described on the AbeBooks web sites. If you¿re dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn¿t arrived, you¿re eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please use the [Ask bookseller a question] link to contact us and we¿ll respond within 2 business days


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal