The Sky So Big and Black (Meme Wars)

Barnes, John

Published by Tor Books, 2002
ISBN 10: 0765303035 / ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Ex library book - has the usual strikeovers and marks 0.0. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.92 avg rating
(241 ratings)

Synopsis: At the end of the twenty-first century, Earth is under the control of a single intelligence, the apparently benign One True. Mars, meanwhile, is slowly terraforming, and the human settlers there are still free of One True's control...but they need a pressure suits to survive outside, and it will be a century or more before the planet's fit for terrestrial life.

Terpsichore Murray is growing up on Mars. She wants to quit school and become, like her father, an ecoprospector. He has other ideas: he wants her to stay in school. He does want her along on his next long trip but only to conduct a group of younger kids from the highlands at Mars's equator back to school in Wells City.

What happens next will change Terpsichore, will change Mars, and will open the door to a new chapter in the history of intelligent beings in the solar system . . . all of them.

Review: "They don't make 'em like that any more!" say fans of the classic juvenile SF novels, Alexei Panshin's Rite of Passage (1968) and the run of Robert A. Heinlein novels that begins with Rocket Ship Galileo (1947) and ends with Podkayne of Mars (1963). Except--John Barnes has made one like that: The Sky So Big and Black. The book's brilliant teenage protagonist, hard science, brisk pace, didactic moments, and strong characterization make it clear that Barnes is working consciously in the tradition of Panshin and Heinlein (especially Heinlein's Red Planet [1949] and Podkayne of Mars). Like his models, Barnes does a superb job. The Sky So Big and Black is a classic. Read it, and give it to any smart, perhaps-outcast young reader whom you want to infect with the science fiction meme.

Terpsichore "Teri" Murray lives on Mars, an eco-prospector-in-training and the daughter of a widowed ecospector. Instead of gold, ecospectors seek underground rivers and gas pockets, which they blast to the Martian surface in hopes of earning fabulous wealth. The ecospector life is hard, primitive, dangerous, and perhaps doomed to extinction, as the Martian atmosphere thickens and the genetically engineered "Mars-form" humans increase their population. An Earth-form human, Teri doesn't want to give up ecospecting, which she loves as much as she hates the city and school where she's forced to spend part of every year. But she finds herself with new, far more ominous worries when a devastating planetwide disaster isolates the colonies from one another, strands Teri in the Martian outback with several injured young children, and opens the entire planet to attack by One True, the collective intelligence that rules Earth in a terrifyingly total dictatorship. --Cynthia Ward

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Sky So Big and Black (Meme Wars)
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: 2002
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Barnes, John
Published by Tor Books
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books. Hardcover. Condition: Fine. 0765303035 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z0765303035Z1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

John Barnes
Published by Tor Books
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2920587284

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Barnes, John
Published by Tor Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 2002. Condition: Good. 1st. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP8564419

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Barnes, John
Published by Tor Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 2002. Condition: Good. 1st. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP88429149

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Barnes, John
Published by Tor Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 2002. Condition: Very Good. 1st. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP13229460

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

John Barnes
Published by Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0765303035I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

John Barnes
Published by Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Free State
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0765303035I4N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

John Barnes
Published by Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0765303035I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

John Barnes
Published by Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doherty Associates, LLC, Tom. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0765303035I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Barnes, John
Published by Tor Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0765303035 ISBN 13: 9780765303035
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Emerald
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 2002. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_220490230

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 23 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book