Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family

3.69 avg rating
( 275 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061240393: Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family

“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.” —Christopher Hitchens

In the tradition of Jung Chang’s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir’s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi’s unique memoir of returning to her family’s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter’s journey through the annals of her family’s tumultuous history, Chalabi’s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

For Tamara Chalabi, Iraq is more than a country of war and controversy; it is a place of poignant memory. For much of the twentieth century, the Chalabis were among the most influential families in Iraq. In the 1920s they were at the forefront of their country's awakening to modernity, and they played an integral part in the establishment of its monarchy. As courtiers, politicians, businessmen, rebels, merchants, and scholars, the Chalabis enjoyed vast privilege until the end of the 1950s, when they were forced to flee to the land of exile, myth, and imagination, where their beloved homeland took on the quality of a phantom country. In between came rebellions, foreign interventions, and the transformative development of oil wealth.

But in 2003, after a lifetime of exile, Tamara arrived in Baghdad just ten days after the city's fall, in the company of her father, Ahmad Chalabi, a leading opposition figure against the Saddam regime. Late for Tea at the Deer Palace chronicles a daughter's return to a homeland she'd known only through stories and her own imagination. As she investigates four generations of her family's history, Tamara offers a rich portrait of Middle Eastern family life and a provocative look at a lost Iraq. The story is populated by an array of unforgettable characters, among them Tamara's great-grandfather Abdul Hussein Chalabi, who as a member of the Ottoman parliament witnessed the end of the empire in Baghdad and the birth of the modern Iraqi state at the hands of the British; her grandfather Abdul Hadi Chalabi, who became one of the wealthiest men in Iraq and had strong ties with the British during World War II; and her grandmother Bibi, a grande dame who presided over Iraq's social and political life during Baghdad's 1920s and '30s heyday as the Paris of the Middle East.

At once intimate and magisterial, Late for Tea at the Deer Palace vividly captures the rich, overlooked history of a country that has been uprooted by war and a family that has persevered by never forgetting its dreams or its past.

About the Author:

Tamara Chalabi holds a PhD in history from Harvard University. She has written for The Wall Street Journal, The New Republic, Slate, and The Sunday Times, among other publications.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Chalabi, Tamara
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061240397 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # AUD3214RMBR100716H0331A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tamara Chalabi
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(PLANO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP0061240397BN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Chalabi, Tamara
Published by Harper Collins 2011-01-18 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2011-01-18, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061240393B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061240397

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Tamara Chalabi
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800612403931.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061240397

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Chalabi, Tamara
Published by Harper 2011-01-18 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2011-01-18, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 0061240397 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061240397

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by Harper, New York (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
GOOD OLD BOOKS
(Barrie, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, New York, 2011. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # H65H22

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by Harper, New York (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
GOOD OLD BOOKS
(Barrie, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, New York, 2010. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First American Edition.. Bookseller Inventory # H87H04

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Chalabi, Tamara
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061240397 ISBN 13: 9780061240393
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061240397

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book