She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

3.97 avg rating
( 5,750 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061430763: She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.” —Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall 

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds—and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other “she-wolves,” as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much—and how little—has changed through the centuries. 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

When Edward VI died in 1553, the extraordinary fact was that there was no one left to claim the title of king of England. For the first time, England would have a reigning queen—but the question was which one: Katherine of Aragon's daughter, Mary; Anne Boleyn's daughter, Elizabeth; or one of their cousins, Lady Jane Grey or Mary, Queen of Scots.

But female rule in England also had a past. Four hundred years before Edward's death, Matilda, daughter of Henry I and granddaughter of William the Conqueror, came tantalizingly close to securing the crown for herself. And between the twelfth and fifteenth centuries three more exceptional women—Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, and Margaret of Anjou—discovered how much was possible if pre-sumptions of male rule were not confronted so explicitly—and just how quickly they might be vilified as "she-wolves" for their pains.

The stories of these women, told here in all their vivid detail, expose the paradox that female heirs to the Tudor throne had no choice but to negotiate. Man was the head of woman, and the king was the head of all. How, then, could royal power lie in female hands?

About the Author:

Helen Castor is a historian of medieval England and a Bye-Fellow of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge. Her first book, Blood and Roses, was long-listed for the Samuel Johnson Prize and won the English Association’s Beatrice White Prize. Her second book, She-Wolves, was selected as one of the books of the year by The Guardian, The Sunday Times, The Independent, Financial Times, and BBC History Magazine. She lives in London.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061430770: She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0061430773 ISBN 13:  9780061430770
Publisher: Harper Perennial, 2012
Softcover

9780571237050: She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Faber ..., 2010
Hardcover

9780571237067: She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Faber ..., 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Castor, Helen
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061430765 ISBN 13: 9780061430763
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sooner Fine Books
(Tulsa, OK, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0061430765 Prompt attention. New. Free tracking. Seller Inventory # LIST60/0250

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Helen Castor
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061430765 ISBN 13: 9780061430763
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0061430765

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Castor, Helen
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061430765 ISBN 13: 9780061430763
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110061430765

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 64.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Helen Castor
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061430765 ISBN 13: 9780061430763
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0061430765

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 65.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Helen Castor
ISBN 10: 0061430765 ISBN 13: 9780061430763
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-0061430765

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Helen Castor
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061430765 ISBN 13: 9780061430763
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1St Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0061430765n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 116.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds