Items related to The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological...

The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution - Hardcover

 
9780061442933: The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“Henry Schlesinger is playful and intelligent and obscenely well read.” — Richard Zacks, author of The Pirate Hunter

"Henry Schlesinger’s fascinating and superbly researched history of the battery is the story of civilization as we know it." — Michael Belfiore, author of The Department of Mad Scientists

Henry Schlesinger’s The Battery is the first popular history of the technology that harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of our time. If you like Wired Magazine and popular science books, you'll love the "hidden history" of The Battery.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and David Bodanis's E=MC2, The Battery is the first popular history of the technology that harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of our time.

What began as a long-running dispute in biology, involving a dead frog's twitching leg, a scalpel, and a metal plate, would become an invention that transformed the history of the world: the battery. From Alessandro Volta's first copper-and-zinc model in 1800 to twenty-first-century technological breakthroughs, science journalist Henry Schlesinger traces the history of this essential power source and demonstrates its impact on our lives.

Volta's first battery not only settled the frog's leg question, it also unleashed a field of scientific research that led to the discovery of new elements and new inventions, from Samuel Morse's telegraph to Alexander Graham Bell's telephone to Thomas Edison's incandescent lightbulb. And recent advances like nanotechnology are poised to create a new generation of paradigm-shifting energy sources.

Schlesinger introduces the charlatans and geniuses, paupers and magnates, attracted to the power of the battery, including Michael Faraday, Guglielmo Marconi, Gaylord Wilshire, and Hugo Gernsback, the publisher and would-be inventor who coined the term "science fiction." A kaleidoscopic tour of an ingenious invention that helped usher in the modern world, The Battery is as entertaining as it is enlightening.

About the Author:

Henry Schlesinger is a journalist and author specializing in science and emerging technologies. He is the coauthor of Spycraft: The Secret History of the CIA's Spytechs, from Communism to Al-Qaeda, and lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherSmithsonian
  • Publication date2010
  • ISBN 10 0061442933
  • ISBN 13 9780061442933
  • BindingHardcover
  • Edition number1
  • Number of pages320
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061442940: The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0061442941 ISBN 13:  9780061442940
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
LibraryMercantile
(Humble, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newMercantile_0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 22.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 21.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Big Bill's Books
(Wimberley, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Brand New Copy. Seller Inventory # BBB_new0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 24.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books Unplugged
(Amherst, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Buy with confidence! Book is in new, never-used condition 1.05. Seller Inventory # bk0061442933xvz189zvxnew

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 28.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published 1.05. Seller Inventory # 353-0061442933-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 28.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Wizard Books
(Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Seller Inventory # Wizard0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 25.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
Sparrow Reads
(Edgewood, NM, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st Edition. Seller Inventory # 003436

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 26.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenDragon
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Buy for Great customer experience. Seller Inventory # GoldenDragon0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 27.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 27.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Front Cover Books
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # FrontCover0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 29.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book