The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution

3.54 avg rating
( 166 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061442933: The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and David Bodanis's E=MC2, The Battery is the first popular history of the technology that harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of our time.

What began as a long-running dispute in biology, involving a dead frog's twitching leg, a scalpel, and a metal plate, would become an invention that transformed the history of the world: the battery. From Alessandro Volta's first copper-and-zinc model in 1800 to twenty-first-century technological breakthroughs, science journalist Henry Schlesinger traces the history of this essential power source and demonstrates its impact on our lives.

Volta's first battery not only settled the frog's leg question, it also unleashed a field of scientific research that led to the discovery of new elements and new inventions, from Samuel Morse's telegraph to Alexander Graham Bell's telephone to Thomas Edison's incandescent lightbulb. And recent advances like nanotechnology are poised to create a new generation of paradigm-shifting energy sources.

Schlesinger introduces the charlatans and geniuses, paupers and magnates, attracted to the power of the battery, including Michael Faraday, Guglielmo Marconi, Gaylord Wilshire, and Hugo Gernsback, the publisher and would-be inventor who coined the term "science fiction." A kaleidoscopic tour of an ingenious invention that helped usher in the modern world, The Battery is as entertaining as it is enlightening.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

An eye-opening history of the technology that harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of our time.

What begin as a long-running dispute in biology, involving a dead frog's twitching leg, a scalpel, and a metal plate, would become an invention that transformed the history of the world: the battery. Science journalist Henry Schlesinger traces the history of this essential power source and demonstrates its impact on our lives, from Alessandro Volta's first copper-and-zinc model in 1800 to twenty-first-century technological breakthroughs. Schlesinger introduces the charlatans and geniuses, the paupers and magnates, who were attracted to the power of the battery.

About the Author:

Henry R. Schlesinger is a journalist and author specializing in science and emerging technologies. He has written extensively for Popular Science, Popular Mechanics, MIT's Technology Review, and Smithsonian magazine. The coauthor of Spycraft: The Secret History of the CIA's Spytechs, from Communism to Al-Qaeda, he lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian Books, Washington, D.C., U.S.A. (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reader's Corner, Inc.
(Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian Books, Washington, D.C., U.S.A., 2010. Hard Cover. Book Condition: NEW. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, First Printing. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. This is a new hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a new mylar protected DJ, yellow-blue-red spine. Bookseller Inventory # 047528

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and David Bodanis's E=MC2, The Battery is the first popular history of the technology that harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of our time. What began as a long-running dispute in biology, involving a dead frog's twitching leg, a scalpel, and a metal plate, would become an invention that transformed the history of the world: the battery. From Alessandro Volta's first copper-and-zinc model in 1800 to twenty-first-century technological breakthroughs, science journalist Henry Schlesinger traces the history of this essential power source and demonstrates its impact on our lives. Volta's first battery not only settled the frog's leg question, it also unleashed a field of scientific research that led to the discovery of new elements and new inventions, from Samuel Morse's telegraph to Alexander Graham Bell's telephone to Thomas Edison's incandescent lightbulb. And recent advances like nanotechnology are poised to create a new generation of paradigm-shifting energy sources. Schlesinger introduces the charlatans and geniuses, paupers and magnates, attracted to the power of the battery, including Michael Faraday, Guglielmo Marconi, Gaylord Wilshire, and Hugo Gernsback, the publisher and would-be inventor who coined the term "science fiction." A kaleidoscopic tour of an ingenious invention that helped usher in the modern world, The Battery is as entertaining as it is enlightening. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061442933

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Enterprise Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. First Edition; First Printing. New. DJ not clipped ($25.99) No names, notes, but remainder slash thru rear ISBN bar code. Else New. ; photos; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 308 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 50126

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061442933

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061442933

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061442933 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0019614

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061442933

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 62.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Schlesinger, Henry
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800614429331.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 69.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds