The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution

3.54 avg rating
( 192 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061442933: The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“Henry Schlesinger is playful and intelligent and obscenely well read.” — Richard Zacks, author of The Pirate Hunter

"Henry Schlesinger’s fascinating and superbly researched history of the battery is the story of civilization as we know it." — Michael Belfiore, author of The Department of Mad Scientists

Henry Schlesinger’s The Battery is the first popular history of the technology that harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of our time. If you like Wired Magazine and popular science books, you'll love the "hidden history" of The Battery.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and David Bodanis's E=MC2, The Battery is the first popular history of the technology that harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of our time.

What began as a long-running dispute in biology, involving a dead frog's twitching leg, a scalpel, and a metal plate, would become an invention that transformed the history of the world: the battery. From Alessandro Volta's first copper-and-zinc model in 1800 to twenty-first-century technological breakthroughs, science journalist Henry Schlesinger traces the history of this essential power source and demonstrates its impact on our lives.

Volta's first battery not only settled the frog's leg question, it also unleashed a field of scientific research that led to the discovery of new elements and new inventions, from Samuel Morse's telegraph to Alexander Graham Bell's telephone to Thomas Edison's incandescent lightbulb. And recent advances like nanotechnology are poised to create a new generation of paradigm-shifting energy sources.

Schlesinger introduces the charlatans and geniuses, paupers and magnates, attracted to the power of the battery, including Michael Faraday, Guglielmo Marconi, Gaylord Wilshire, and Hugo Gernsback, the publisher and would-be inventor who coined the term "science fiction." A kaleidoscopic tour of an ingenious invention that helped usher in the modern world, The Battery is as entertaining as it is enlightening.

About the Author:

Henry Schlesinger is a journalist and author specializing in science and emerging technologies. He is the coauthor of Spycraft: The Secret History of the CIA's Spytechs, from Communism to Al-Qaeda, and lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061442940: The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0061442941 ISBN 13:  9780061442940
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110061442933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 51.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Henry Schlesinger
Published by Smithsonian (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2010. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0061442933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Schlesinger, Henry
Published by Smithsonian
ISBN 10: 0061442933 ISBN 13: 9780061442933
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0061442933 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0016573

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds