I Love You, Miss Huddleston: And Other Inappropriate Longings of My Indiana Childhood

3.67 avg rating
( 465 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061720208: I Love You, Miss Huddleston: And Other Inappropriate Longings of My Indiana Childhood

With his ear for the small town and his knack for finding the needle of humor in life's haystack, Philip Gulley might well be Indiana's answer to Missouri's Mark Twain. In I Love You, Miss Huddleston we are transported to 1970's Danville, Indiana, the everyone-knows-your-business town where Gulley still lives today, to witness the uproarious story of Gulley's young life, including his infatuation with his comely sixth-grade teacher, his dalliance with sin—eating meat on Friday and inappropriate activities with a mannequin named Ginger—and his checkered start with organized religion.

Sister Mary John had shown us a flannelgraph of the apostles receiving the Holy Spirit on the day of Pentecost. They looked quite happy, except that their hair was on fire. . . . I was suspicious of a religion whose highpoint was the igniting of one's head, and my enthusiasm for church, which had never been great, began to fade.

Even as Kennedy was facing down Khrushchev, Danny Millardo and his band of youthful thugs conducted a reign of terror still unmatched in the annals of Indiana history. With Gulley's sharp wit and keen observation, I Love You, Miss Huddleston captures these dramas and more, revisiting a childhood of unrelieved and happy chaos.

From beginning to end, Gulley recalls the hilarity (and heightened dangers) of those wonder years and the easy charm of midwestern life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

In the vein of Bill Bryson’s The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid, with a dash of some of the homegrown nostalgia of The Dangerous Book for Boys and A Prairie Home Companion, humorist Philip Gulley ( Front Porch Tales, Home to Harmony) tells of his coming of age in small-town Indiana.

About the Author:

Philip Gulley is a Quaker minister, writer, husband, and father. He is the bestselling author of Front Porch Tales, the acclaimed Harmony series, and is coauthor of If Grace Is True and If God Is Love. Gulley lives with his wife and two sons in Indiana, and is a frequent speaker at churches, colleges, and retreat centers across the country.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Philip Gulley
Published by HarperLuxe
ISBN 10: 0061720208 ISBN 13: 9780061720208
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061720208. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061720208ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 52.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Philip Gulley
Published by HarperLuxe 2009-04-14 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061720208 ISBN 13: 9780061720208
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe 2009-04-14, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Lgr. 0061720208. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061720208ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 52.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Philip Gulley
Published by HarperLuxe (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061720208 ISBN 13: 9780061720208
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Lgr. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061720208

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 79.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Philip Gulley
Published by HarperLuxe (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061720208 ISBN 13: 9780061720208
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061720208

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 93.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds